Skip to content

All Things October

October 4, 2010

I have finally conceded to the turning of the calendar.  I have accepted that the days are shorter and everything is dying.  But because my nature is to seek what is comforting-October has its positives.

The colors are spectacular.  There is no hiding from the bright reds, oranges and golds.  A real change from the cool colors of spring and summer.  A nice change.

A touch of color here–

A touch of color there–

And October is here–the focus changes from all things outside–to all things inside.

So-I light the candles–

Sprinkle in some pumpkins–

And cozy up to the fire–

School marches on and routine is now routine–

Football is in full swing–with cool nights wrapped in blankets and hot chocolate.

Apples are fresh and crunchy–the way an apple should be–October means orchards and cider and donuts–

Soups and stews replace the grill and cold salads–(although, we still grill year round)

And because there is a shortage of pumpkin puree this year–I used up my precious can on these pancakes.  And because they were the best pancakes I have ever made–I knew I had to share the recipe.  These are so yummy–you must, must try them.  I now have something to look forward to in October!

Pumpkin Pancakes with Cinnamon Brown Butter-Tasteofhome.com

1/2 cup butter, cubed

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)

1 1/2 cup flour

2 Tbsp packed brown sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 eggs

1-1/3 cups milk

3/4 cup canned pumpkin

1/2 cup ricotta cheese (I couldn’t imagine ricotta cheese in my pancakes, so I substituted cream cheese–so glad I did)

In a small heavy saucepan cook butter over medium heat for 8-10 minutes or until golden brown, stirring occasionally.

Add the maple syrup, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Remove from heat.  Stir in pecans.

In a small bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder and salt.  In another bowl, whisk the eggs, milk, pumpkin and cheese. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened.

Drop batter by 1/4 cupfuls onto a greased hot griddle: turn when bubbles form on top.  Cook until the second side is golden brown.  Serve with Cinnamon syrup.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 2:59 pm

    oh my! I do love these!! Thank you for thinking of me. Know that you can replace the pumpkin in this recipe with sweet potato puree and you’ll have no problems. The taste of the two fall veggies is surprisingly similar.

  2. October 5, 2010 11:25 am

    These pancakes sound
    delicious. Actually, there
    is a restaurant locally that
    is known for its lemon-
    ricotta pancakes and believe
    me, they are good….So
    don’t give up on the ricotta!
    Welcome fall!!
    xx Suzanne

  3. Alyssa permalink
    October 6, 2010 11:20 pm

    Your pictures are beautiful! It’s nice to see you persevering with school!

Leave a comment