Skip to content

LightRoom

January 28, 2013

A New Year and a new goal.  I came pretty much kicking and screaming because it takes me so long to learn new things.  I realized that if I want to take my images from my eye to my camera and out the way I saw either through my lens or in my mind-I need to learn more about editing   I felt like I had a pretty good handle on Photo Shop-but there was just something missing.  I have turned my nose up at LightRoom for too long and felt like my Adobe Camera Raw and PSE together were all I needed-although, my images were not organized in a way that satisfied me and my work flow is WAY too slow.  I think that is what sold me–I needed to cut my editing time back-because honestly, I loved editing when it was just me and my flowers and my kids and my life-but then when I started taking photos for other people- there were a lot more images to edit-and I was just not as excited because of all of the time I was spending.

kimklassendotcom

My favorite teacher and artist extraordinaire-began a class on just what I needed.  From Lightroom to Photoshop and back again-a Round Trip.  It is a very detailed class for me-but I am SOLD on Lightroom and I am so happy I don’t have to give up Photoshop in order to love it-but it does grieve me to say I love Lightroom more than Adobe Camera Raw.  Never thought I would say that-but the organizing capabilities in Lightroom surpass any of the organizers I have worked with.  My brain does not like to organize-so-I am still wrapping my head around this program-but it is coming slowly into view.

Screen Shot 2013-01-28 at 4.59.56 PM

Here is one of my images I have been playing with-I love what I can do in Lightroom-so fun! So-here’s to learning a new trick. The real test will come when I have about 1,000 images to edit-I’ll let you know if it speeds up my workflow!  Thanks to Kim-and if you ever need to learn something new or just love lovely blogs-go visit her-she has a sweet place to sit and linger.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alyssa permalink
    January 28, 2013 10:57 pm

    We only use light room and gimp now. light room makes a big difference! It does help organize everything well!

  2. August 15, 2013 3:14 am

    Nice use of light

Leave a comment