Skip to content

Trust

January 9, 2013

Last year was the first year I picked a word that would challenge my year.  It started with a photography project that I only managed to do for a few weeks.  That was how my year ran.  I would start and lose my way.  So many starts and stops.  My creativity was gone.  I lost my way.  Busyness can invade and stop all process for the sake of progress and doing.  Then somewhere between Christmas and the New Year-I started to breathe again.  I wanted to begin again.  Isn’t the New Year wonderful?! “…the eyes of the Lord are always upon it from the beginning of the year even unto the end of the year.”  Deuteronomy 11:12

Image

The process began of searching for a word that would encourage, push, and lead me this year.  A word that would remind me of what I needed to learn and how to grow.  What does God require of me this year?  Some will say the New Year is just another day-but God gives us a beginning and an ending.  This my New Year will start with TRUST.  What God says-I will do. But–there is so much more…

Image

Last year about this time I was reading a favorite blog and found a paper written by one of her students.  I don’t have a name.  I wish I did.  I have my suspicions-and I hope I learn. It was all that was in my heart.  I have gone back to this paper over and over.  It will be on my wall someday-and the inspiration for my word this year.

Trust is not something well-understood, but it is the hinge upon which the Christian life swings, the cable tied to the Anchor that grips the Rock.

Trust is not understanding, yet neither is it blind obedience.

Trust is knowing who God is and believing Him.

It is forsaking your own attempts to remedy the bleakness and blackness of your own heart and accepting the righteousness of Christ.

It is grappling with the wisdom of an Almighty God and at last surrendering to His unknowable omniscience.

Trust is a complete relinquishment of your own control and a humble offering of that control to a Mighty Savior.

It is crushing the ugly, venomous head of worry through the surety of God’s promises.

It is turning over an aching, shattered heart to the Great Physician and allowing Him to heal.

Trust is giving up all human reason, all rationalization, all fleshly intellect, and believing the love of God.

Trust is bold defiance to the deceitful wiles of satan because the Spirit of God dwells within you.

Trust is taking the hand of the One whose loving-kindness is better than life and obediently following without reserve because He promises to work all things together for good.

In its simplest essence,

Trust is resting in the TRUTH.

So my year begins with hope and assurance.  I can breathe again.

This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope.  It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning; great is thy faithfulness. The Lord is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him.  The Lord is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him.  It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the Lord.

Lamentations 3:21-26

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 18, 2013 11:11 am

    A year beginning with trust in God’s faithfulness is surely off to a grand start! 🙂

Leave a comment