Skip to content

A Day in the Woods

October 15, 2011

It was one of those pure Michigan fall days.  The sky was a deep blue-the air warm – but had that touch of fall wrapped in it.  It was a day to spend in the woods.  We don’t get out to the woods as often as we would like- but we do cherish the days we are able to put everything aside and make it a day.  The cousins were in town-so it made it extra fun.

Sometimes I think a day in the woods is better than any amusement park.  Given a day in the woods-it is amazing how time just slips away-with not enough time for everything.

The favorite is always riding the Quads.  We have had Quads for so many years, I don’t remember not not having them.  The are a necessity around here-but on a side note **  I remember when Dustin wanted to ask Andrea to marry him and he needed to buy her a ring, he sold his beloved Quad-that he worked for 2 years to buy.  It is quite the family joke that Andrea wears Dustin’s Quad on her finger.  That makes her very special.

The girls decided they wanted to take a spin in the canoe.  I watched them carry the canoe to the water-then I decided it was time for me to go on my own exploration and color tour.

I love the woods.  I love the quiet-I love the colors and the smells.  I love the old junk I find from years gone past.  Old fence posts and cast iron pots and ceramic dishwear-rusted and old.  The woods are full of history.  I see old barbed wire fences and trees bent low.

 

There is color popping out everywhere.  It makes the woods seem more calm and quiet.  The birds are heading south for the winter and the animals are getting ready to hunker down for the winter around the corner.

There are still some flowers lingering the the woods; although, they are few and are of the wild sort.  They add a touch of hope-still there-in the midst of tree leaves dying and falling-and the stillness the fall brings.

The trail winds past weeds fading and trees changing-and I make my way back to the girls at the pond.

The scene was perfect for me-they didn’t know I was there capturing their every move.  Cousins-I think this is a memory the will hold for a life time….I know I will.

I also caught a shot of the boys before they caught me.  I love these shots.  I love this pond.

I would have to say that these motorized vehicles were still the favorite of the day-yes-the canoe was new and fun-but it didn’t have a motor!

This is Adam-my boy-I didn’t get shots of the girls for some reason-I was probably on my blanket under a big tree–reading…or napping…or

The swing was now empty.  I could hear the quads in the distance-I was content under my tree-the day lingering on.

This was an old bottle found in a junk pile in the woods.  I hate to call it junk-because the stuff we find is so cool.  I don’t like to call it garbage either.  It has been there so long-it is now part of history and not junk.  Funny how that happens.

 

 

My Hero-always working-even when he doesn’t think he is–building a firepit here–

Then the daylight began to fade.  The woods take on a whole different look in this light.  The kids began to stay closer to the barn-and my girl-who is convinced that Big Foot-or Sasquatch-as we like to call him–She thinks he lives in these woods–and of course, we like to keep the story alive and well for her as the skies became dark.

 

The air was now cool and the fire warm-hot dogs roasted and s’mores made-it was an end to a wonderful day-spent.  Many memories were made and I myself will hold onto this day as the winds of fall blow all those beautiful colors away and the sun will hide again until spring–

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2011 1:10 am

    This could be a Pure Michigan advertisement!! Loved looking at the pictures! 🙂

  2. October 15, 2011 11:30 pm

    What a perfect day.
    I love how you loved it.
    Your pics are lovely.
    xx Suzanne

  3. October 28, 2011 2:23 pm

    That’s a kid’s dream come true day!!

Leave a Reply

