Skip to content

Are You Ready For Some Football!

September 21, 2011

I go kicking and screaming into fall. I hold onto each and every last moment of summer. Yes-school has started-and that fall bend in the light has begun. I saw it coming-during football practice-those evenings of seeing the sun sink lower and lower into the horizon-seeing the geese V across the evening sky-hearing fall. It is only football that brings me into fall. Every night we are out there watching the grueling duck walk and leg lifts and running endlessly-preparing the players for this. The first game. The meeting of two teams. My boy-the older this year. Bigger-stronger–able to jump buildings in a single bound–ok well–bigger-stronger.

I felt more ready this year. Not quite as fearful of him being laid out on the field. He is bigger this year. I am conditioned now-I still hide behind my camera-but I peek out now every once in a while. All those practices–all those hitting drills–all those Quarter Back plays he rehearsed and memorized–all culminate to this day. The kick-off.

Now-please keep in mind–this is the one and only time you will EVER see me root for Blue and Gold over Green and White. I repeat–this is the only time you will EVER see me root for Blue and Gold over Green and White. This is the only time you will EVER hear me say, “GO BLUE!”. Ok-just to make sure we are clear.

The first Hut-Hut is called and I sit looking through my window view–and my boy–my little boy–moves like a football player.

I am thinking that somehow that is not my Adam. Somehow-it doesn’t seem possible that he can move like that-that he can remember who gets the ball. He does this play after play. Taking signs from his coach-calling the play in the huddle–then doing it. I am really watching someone else–through my viewer–I am watching someone else.

Then there is defense.  Normally-you wouldn’t have to worry about defense–well–because–normally–who wants their quarter-back to get laid out on defense.  Do you see where he is up there?  No–that is why I put the arrow–he is on bottom of that pile–well–not the bottom–the poor guy who had the ball was on the bottom.

Now-follow along while I lead you through this play.  The other team passes the ball-my boy and his team-mate both are on him!

The ball is loose!  (Isn’t this exciting!)

Adam scoops it up-without falling on his head–

And heads for the goal line-with Green and White on his tail.

Will he make it?

No Green and White in sight–

He scores!

Then I know-from the look on his face–this is my boy.  He is there after all.

Yes-they won–44-0

So yes!  I am ready for some Football!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 2:04 pm

    Go #42!!! I still don’t think I can bring myself to root for “Blue & Gold,” but go Adam! Great pics & play-by-play. Definitely one of the draws of fall.

  2. Susie permalink
    September 21, 2011 5:58 pm

    Haha, you are too funny! I would just have to say that Blue and Gold are the best then, huh? Adam plays for Blue and Gold, Anthony and Michael play for Blue and Gold, and then you have the Maize and Blue! 🙂 (Grand Ledge, DeWitt) Ok, Ill agree to disagree! 🙂 Go Adam! Can’t wait to see ya play. Go BLUE!

Leave a Reply

