Skip to content

I Remember When…

August 5, 2011

I remember when you came into our lives-the day you were born in my heart. I never knew how much you would weave yourself into my life and hold on so tight. Every doubt and every fear faded when you were placed into my arms.

Your birthday is today-and means so much to me. More than cake and presents-even more than just another year older. Your birth-your life–all planned by God–and because His plan for you includes me–Your birthday–that day you were born–is really a gift to me.

I can’t imagine a day without you–from little boy following his daddy–to now a young man walking beside him. I trust you now-to take care of us when Dad is away–to kill a bee–to open a jar–to carry something heavy–all when I used to carry you.

I remember when I had to lean down to kiss your head–you will soon lean down to kiss mine. You grew overnight, and I knew it always happens that way–I wasn’t ready this time. I still see you never wanting to let go of my hand-a little boy holding onto his dreams–a little boy loving his cars and balls–to now telling me, “only 4 more years until I can drive”–and you teaching me every rule of every ball game made to man.

I remember telling you, “Jesus loves you”–and now you tell me–“and He holds you in the palm of His hand.”–and I can see now that you love Him too.

My hope grows for you each day–because I remember you the day you were put in my arms-you were so afraid-but learned to trust as each day went by–our trust is knit together now–because I really do trust you too–I trust your strength-your courage-your ability to take a stand-to make hard decisions-to love God even when you have surrendered all in this world to Him–

I will always remember your count-down to mid-night so that you could turn 12 years old–because I want to hold the clock for just a little while longer-to hold your hand and never let go–but time is not in my hands and you will let go–but I know for today–Happy Birthday, Adam–you are a gift to me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 4:17 pm

    Happy Birthday, Adam!

  2. August 7, 2011 12:19 am

    Beautiful words, Happy Birthday to Adam!

  3. August 8, 2011 9:31 am

    such beautiful, heartfelt words to your son. Happy Birthday to Adam!

Leave a Reply

