Skip to content

Kindle vs The Book

June 7, 2011

I thought it was time that I took a strong stand on an issue.

The Kindle vs The Book.

I was a purist for a long time. I love the smell the feel the look of the books lining my shelves–but I have a Hero who is never electronically challenged. He has every gadget made under the sun. He loves technology. He believes in technology – not because it is something new and he has to have it- but if he believes it will add to the quality of life or his business-he is on board. And————–because I am his wife and I fight technology–as in–I can still use this wringer washing machine-it still works just fine–I tend to receive technology based gadgets for every holiday-birthday-this is your anniversary present (3 months before it is my anniversary)-(and what I really wanted was a diamond bracelet)–So keep this in mind as you read my opinion.

A book is a source of comfort for me. I have several by my side at all times–I tend to read at least 5 at one time.

Right now-I am reading 2 photography books-a new book that I am having a hard time getting into-A book by A. W. Tozer-and a couple of others that I forgot the names of right off hand. I normally only read one fiction book at a time. I have to or I get my stories mixed up.

When we travel-I have always had this huge bag stuffed with at least 7-8 books. On vacation or traveling, I can consume 2 books in a week-sometimes more.

I have a book in the car with me at all times-I take a book to baseball games-if they last all afternoon or evening.

Honestly-I could stop typing right now and would love to go sit and read-but this is history I am writing here–

Back to the comparison.

Books

1.  Nosalgic

2.  A book feels right in your hand-like it was meant to be there

3.  You can see if you are half way done.

4.  I love book markers-preferable one hand made out of a gum wrapper or whatever scrap of paper I happen to have on me.

5.   They smell good.

6.  You look smart when you carry around a book.

7.  A book makes a great decoration.

8.  A book can become a family heirloom-passed down from generation to generation.

9.  You can underline and highlight portions that you want to remember or reference back.

10.  A book can withstand any weather-and come out fine-even if left in the rain-which happens to me quite often-don’t ask…

Kindle (Ipad)

1.  I don’t actually own a Kindle-but I have a Kindle App on my iPad.

2.  My iPad is very nice to hold-and I feel like I am actually turning the pages-really, I’m not-obviously-but really I am.

3.  I have a hard time knowing how far along I am in the book.  It tells me I am 36 percent into the book-but that is like north, south, east and west to me…

4.  When I open my Kindle App-it goes right to where I left off-it knows-and remembers which book I was just reading–

5.  I can bring 50 books with me anywhere I go–they are with me at all times–all 50 of them.

6.  You look a little pretentious with an iPad–I know that won’t last forever-but I am looking for a cover that looks like a real book or something.

7.  I have so many books in my house now that my husband is threatening to box some of them-that is a cardinal sin in my book.

8.  My kids want me to Will my iPad to them when I die.  There are these amazing animated books-and audio books-Ask me about the ‘BibleIs’ App–amazing!

9.  With a touch of my finger I can bookmark a page-make notes about the bookmark-and highlight portions-and I can see how many other people also highlighted that same portion-             scary, huh?

10.  I wouldn’t ever-ever leave my iPad out in the rain-my husband would kill me and then give my kids my iPad–somehow he never mentions it when I leave my books out in the rain?

Now-there are some drawbacks to my Kindle App

I can no longer read with sunglasses on-but I have adjusted.  It has never happened to me-but I have heard it will shut down in very high temperatures.  Living here in the north-that has not been an issue…ok…until this week when 95 degree weather hit–my iPad never skipped a beat.

I have an account with Amazon-with one-touch download straight to my iPad-and it all happens within 10 seconds–that means my money is also whipped out of my bank account in 10 seconds–but there is such power in finding that perfect book and really wanting it-and with one touch-there it is–no more being on the waiting list at the Local Library or paying 30.00 for the Hard Cover.

Now- I know there will be some books I will just have to have-to feel- But–I do think I can love both-and say ‘thank you very much’ to my technology crazed Hero

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 2:38 am

    this was a great post. this is so my husband to a tea. he loves real books but lately I have caught him looking at the readers when we go to the store and he shockingly said lets get the boy an ipad for his 21st birthday this year. so I think it is going to be his christmas gift this year. i think i will force him into the geekville that I know he will love.

  2. June 8, 2011 2:54 am

    As my house gets fuller and fuller and I have to give books back to the library that I would love to own, I have started thinking some type of e-book would be the solution. I don’t even have a cell phone yet, so it probably won’t be anytime soon. I used to think I would never want to read electronically.

  3. June 8, 2011 7:45 am

    Great post~

    I think I posted something similar a while back about books vs. ebooks and not having a Kindle or iPad, etc…, I took a stand on physical, paper books.

    But, since that time, I’ve become more laid back about the whole issue. Whatever works for the reader is fine by me. For someone like you who reads many books, simultaneously, it makes alot of sense. 🙂

  4. June 9, 2011 9:06 pm

    I’m still partial to actual books, but maybe if somebody gave me an ipad or kindle, I’d have a different opinion! :-),

    Thanks for your visit!:-)

  5. June 9, 2011 10:09 pm

    I am also straddling
    the fence. I tend to
    buy a book when I
    hear about it, in case
    I forget! I often order
    books from the library
    and always, always,
    have several on my
    night stand, one in
    my purse and one in
    the car : ) I think they
    can probably co-exist.
    But there is something
    about REAL books…..
    xx Suzanne

  6. June 13, 2011 7:56 pm

    I do not own an e-reader, so that probably bears more on my decision than anything, but I am a die-hard paperback reader! I love to be able to take one down from the shelf, give it to someone and say, “You HAVE to read this book!” And, if I never get it back, oh well. And you’re right, there’s something about the feel. I fold the corners and bend the cover back & I don’t feel guilty about it. I love, love, love a worn-out copy of a wonderful book that has been read 100 times! Somehow, it gives you a more intimate connection with the message of the book. And, I feel like I am much closer to the author’s message when I hold paper and ink. Call me crazy, but I haven’t joined the techno craze yet!

    • June 13, 2011 9:08 pm

      Sharon-I SO agree about a worn out paperback and giving it out so others can read it——-but——-I am sure the argument for pen and paper verses the printing press applies here:)

  7. June 15, 2011 11:54 am

    Thank you for your comment on my Texture Tuesday post. Just had a quick look through your blog and wanted to say that you have captured some gorgeous images and the adjustments are very nicely done too. Plus I wanted to say that I read this post with interest and I agree with you. Nothing will ever truly replace a book for the feel, smell etc but the there is also a welcome place for the Kindle too.

  8. June 18, 2011 9:38 am

    Great post on the pros and cons of “real” books vs the electronic readers. I have a Kindle and an iPad, but still love books. My readers are great for trips when I can’t take 5 big paperbacks with me. I do miss the colorful book covers which you can’t visualize on the readers. However, I have the best of both worlds.

Leave a Reply

