Skip to content

A Time to Be Born

May 25, 2011

She was born Twenty-Three years ago today

I remember the pink flowers and a little pink blanket

So many hopes and dreams for you-but for me too

I wanted to share life with you

It was a time to be born

It was a time for me to show you – what was about to unfold in this time to be born

It was time for you to grow and change and learn-

Who would you be-?

********************

Your voice is changing-

distance has made me see

A time to be born–

You love the deep things in life

You love the silliness of it too-you laugh

And I have seen you love again.

You are Twenty-three today

I wish I could hold you and rock you again

I wish you could see inside my heart

I wish you could see what I know

**********

But this is your Time to Be Born

Your dreams are inside you now-they don’t belong to me

You are making shadows as you walk and the path you place your steps will leave with it — a trail

How do you know which way to go?

********

I want to hold on still and continue to show you the way

The light is still shining and the path is still light

You have eyes to see and steps to take

I trust now

Your Savior will show you

I still remember — Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus-look full in His wonderful face-and the things of earth will grow strangely dim–

******************

Who will you be?

Behind each step is the road you chose-

and it is leading you to who you will be

Even when you take a wrong turn-the path still leads to who you will be

Choose your path wisely-and make footprints for those behind you-

***************

I could give you a thousand words today

but you have given me my voice

You have given me my heart of joy and love

all because–it was–

A time to be born

Happy Birthday-my Jenna-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2011 12:05 pm

    Oh goodness,
    I’m crying here….
    And the a/c guy
    is just down the steps
    tuning things up….
    Got to get it together : )
    What a blessing this
    post is for both your
    sweet Jenna as well
    as those who get ot
    share in this love letter
    to her. Yes. I too was truly
    born again the day that
    my own daughter, my
    first child, was born.
    Love this, Vonda!

  2. May 27, 2011 2:01 am

    Happy birthday to your “baby girl”:)

Leave a Reply

