Skip to content

Play Ball

May 10, 2011

It’s that time of year. The sun begins to warm the earth. The flowers push up from the dirt and seem to reach toward the sun-grasping the warmth-wanting to grow. The grass is getting green-and the birds won’t hush their singing.

There is new life everywhere you look. Even my eyes are staring to clear. I have waited so long…so long.

For this game to begin! We have had practices cancelled or sitting at practices with winter coats and gloves and hats–now it is time to PLAY BALL!

This is my most favorite time of the year. My two finish school in record time. They don’t even look at each other until the last pencil stroke is done. Lunch consists of shoving food in their mouths just to survive. Then it is off—out to play ball. They eat-sleep-think–playing ball. I love it. There is no instruction from me to finish their chores-do their reading–they just want to play ball. It is contagious this game of catch-catch-catch again. They throw each other grounders that only a major leaguer could possibly catch. They throw each other pop ups and pitch into a huge net. My new grass is green and lush–except for the area of our make shift ball field.

This game known by all-has our family in its grips until the last ball is thrown and the last out called. This game of hunt and catch. This game that always has us wanting for more. This game of baseball has had me waiting for its umpires and dirt. This is how I know spring is finally here….

It is when I hear those two words–“PLAY BALL”

I am linking up with Kim Klassen for Texture Tuesday because it is a beautiful day for a baseball game–of course any day for me is a beautiful day for a baseball game.

Here is a before and after. A little vintage feel for the baseball.

Here is a shot of my layers palette.

kimklassencafe

Head on over to Kim Klassen’s Cafe to see other amazing photos with Kim’s amazing textures.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 6:05 pm

    Ooohh!!! I love, love, love baseball, too! At break time with the kids in school, I am SO tempted to just stay out all afternoon to hear the crack of bat hitting ball, or the satisfying smack of the ball in the glove. For hours, and hours, and hours, we could play!

    GREAT pictures, too. The textured pic of the ball @ the fence is fantastic! Love it!

  2. May 11, 2011 1:48 pm

    Great photos! I’m an avid baseball fan, too, but don’t have children who play so you must be really excited to go to their games! Thanks for showing your layers for the baseball by the fence. I love what you did with it.

  3. May 12, 2011 12:47 am

    I love, love the vintage feel and composition of the baseball with the fence. It evokes so many memories and feelings! Wonderful photos!

  4. May 12, 2011 9:57 am

    Great shot and processing. This one needs a frame!!!

  5. May 14, 2011 12:39 am

    great shots all of the even the before shots

Leave a Reply

