Skip to content

The Gift

May 7, 2011

Over and over-year after year–the day arrives to celebrate mothers. Being a mother Is a gift-

I make so many mistakes at this role–I recently read somewhere, “why is it that we can’t live life backward”…if I only knew then as I held and rocked that first born child and sang him Christmas songs to sleep–if I only knew then what years teach. I know I would have been on my knees more. For all of my trying and working-those times spent only in praying-are the best spent times of all.  Then the next baby arrives and you think you have it all figured out–only this is a person–and they are all different–and you realize you have nothing figured out–

Being a mother is the only claim to fame I own–I could have one thousand accomplishments–but being a mother seems to over-shadow even my wildest dreams.

A child is placed in your arms–it is yours to keep–yours to form–to change this baby into a boy–this baby into a girl–and then this boy into a man–and this girl into a woman–I am incapable–it is only on my knees that they grow.

The gift is given. It is what we do with this gift–this gift of motherhood–that molds a heart and makes a life. Knowing that with that gift comes this overwhelming sense of responsibility–I can only hold onto everlasting promises!

Living life backwards–it is wisdom that we seek. Where could we find such wisdom?–to mold a life? Hope takes the place of worry when we hold the book of life. It is God’s Word that gives life–that molds a life. How many times I have heard new mothers wishing for an instruction manual? Wisdom is knowing we have one.

If I could live my life backward–I would have read that manual before they were born–I would have been asking and asking–praying and praying–and in God’s great mercy–He gives and He gives. Even when I fail so miserably–His mercies are new every morning–

That is what this mothering is–to love–and what a gift that is–to love–even when tears come because love is so deep–and they don’t understand

Not yet–

The baton has been passed on to some of my children–and seeing their life is hoping they will live their life backward–seeking wisdom from God–I have the gift–my responsibility is to pass the baton.

I still hold that baton with others here at home–and knowing that I will have to pass it on soon–keeps me on my knees and reading my Bible.  I underline more and draw hearts next to verses that talk of the heart.  I know so much more now–but what I really know is to keep the heart–love–teach–and what they see–they will do–and when the baton is passed–they will know–my greatest gift from my Heavenly Father–

To be a mother–

Ephesians 2:8


For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2011 11:04 pm

    Heartfelt post, Mrs. Murdock. Happy Mother’s Day.

  2. May 11, 2011 1:45 pm

    Beautiful words and a gorgeous flower! Happy belated Mother’s Day! You sound like a wonderful mother and I’m sure your children are proud!

Leave a Reply

