Skip to content

Warm Sun

April 5, 2011

I have always wanted to be able to paint-to create images in my head and transfer them to a visual. I never learned to paint. I don’t even sketch well–I am always drawn to people who have that ability. It is elusive to me. I create in words and I have just recently discovered that there is nothing new under the sun. What is in one persons head–has been in another’s–it is just whether they are able to communicate that idea into something visual-or something audible-or even words that paint the picture in the mind. Using abilities and talent to create and creating is used to communicate. What you communicate comes from what is in your head-words-audio–visual.

I discovered a way to communicate visually. I am new at this whole visual communication. Beauty communicates the creation of God to me. Not made by hands-but a world filled with the beauty of and the glory of God Himself–how can I not communicate! I see the beauty around me-use my camera, copy that beauty onto a file as an image. Take that image and add depth-light-change colors-texture–I become the painter. I don’t delude myself into thinking that I can pick up a brush and create beauty–copy what the eye sees–communicate what the heart beholds–but I can create and communicate using images and textures and Photoshop. Sounds so pathetic to the purist–I am sure–but give me that joy that you have in creating–only I cheat–I use Photoshop instead of a brush.

My saving solace is the textures I use. I am a purist in my choice of what I add to my photos. I choose Kim Klassen’s textures. Why? There are so many out there–I could even make my own–but she is an Artist. She is a painter. She is that one I admire. The painter. She using her brush and paint and whatever medium she chooses to communicate and she creates textures–to add to my image–to help me create beauty–to communicate the wonder and the glory of all creation–because even I–who couldn’t communicate visually–am making baby steps into a world of new-and challenging. I am still only speaking in one word  syllables, but to change a drab dry winter flower into a hope of spring–that is communication.

Go visit Kim Klassen. She has an amazing video of how she creates textures–hand made–not created with a tool in Photoshop (see-I am a purist). Every Tuesday, she is challenging her readers to use one of her textures and link back to her. You may just get inspired to communicate yourself.

kimklassencafe

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 9:46 am

    me, too! the moving from drawing to photoshop and discovering Kim’s videos. Wonderful photo and textures! Beautiful in a moment.

  2. April 5, 2011 9:55 am

    Love your use of the texture, I too can’t draw but I love how I am able to create a feeling or a visual through the use of textures.

  3. April 5, 2011 9:59 am

    beautiful images!

  4. April 5, 2011 10:24 am

    A beautiful image…nicely done!

  5. April 5, 2011 11:01 am

    Very lovely.

  6. April 5, 2011 12:19 pm

    Absolutely stunning! Isn’t it amazing how something “dead” can be so beautiful?

  7. April 5, 2011 1:12 pm

    A beautifully written post and a wonderful job on your warm sun textured photo. The colors work fabulous together and the text fits the theme perfectly.

  8. April 5, 2011 2:27 pm

    That is a stellar before and after…the words you chose were simple yet powerful!

  9. April 5, 2011 2:30 pm

    I have replace my lack of drawing with my camera. I went to art school with my camera and with hate to pencils and drawing. I have always thought that you can make art without drawing and I still think that way.
    I love you piece of art;)

  10. April 5, 2011 3:02 pm

    great shot!

  11. April 5, 2011 6:31 pm

    i love the wonderful warmth the textures gives you great shot.

  12. fotogan permalink
    April 5, 2011 8:12 pm

    I love your photo and the way you used Warmsun. I enjoyed reading your intuitive description of how it feels to transfer a love of nature’s art to photography and textures.

  13. April 5, 2011 9:30 pm

    Gorgeous hydrangea and texture!

  14. Melinda permalink
    April 5, 2011 11:11 pm

    This is gorgeous! I am also very grateful to have photography- and now TEXTURES- to create beautiful images! Very well done!

  15. April 6, 2011 7:34 am

    So very true, how all forms
    of expression, whether they
    come from a paint brush,
    a sewing machine, a journal
    or a camera or simply that:
    a means to communicate.
    Love it and love what you
    have created, here!
    xx Suzanne

  16. April 6, 2011 9:18 am

    Beautiful processing! I love Kim’s textures as well as her courses, she’s awesome!

  17. April 6, 2011 11:34 am

    Ooo soo fantastic post!!! Wonderful text and thoughts and amazing photo!!!
    I really love what you said and it’s so true!!!
    Your photo and especially the editing with texture and together with the words on it are soo creative and beautiful!! For sure it would be a great postcard!!
    Thank you very much for sharing this post!!

  18. April 6, 2011 2:17 pm

    Very cool-I like that we can put the sun in things when it’s not really there! I tweeted it-but I am still learning twitter?

Leave a Reply

