Skip to content

Waiting for Spring…

March 30, 2011

Today, my calendar says March 30, 2011.  Spring officially started on March 20, 2011–but–I live in the north.  I am not sure why I live in the North–circumstances beyond my control.  I was born in Southern California–I am pretty sure that is why I spend my winters waiting for spring.  I have also concluded that winter belongs to the curse of the fall of man–before the days of Noah, the earth was a tropical oasis–so I spend my days waiting for spring.

We do have days here in the north–sometimes in March even– where the sun breaks through those grips of darkness to warm the earth.  It is then that we shed our heavy coats to drink in every drop of sunshine that falls from the cerulean sky (that’s a blue that only the sky can have).

It may only be 50 degrees outside and those that live in the south are amazed that we can tromp around without a hat and gloves.  We have a certain toughness here in the north–or at least that is what I like to call it–I actually think we just get tired of wearing coats and hats and gloves half of the year.

There is still ice on the pond-but we know it won’t be there for long–spring is coming. It is.

We know that soon we (ok–well they) will be in this water instead of just standing on the banks–waiting.

A day in the woods is like a medicine in those days before spring decides to stay. We stay all day because we know it is just a gift–just for today or maybe tomorrow. We don’t want to waste the day–so we play.

It won’t be long before the leaves and grass are green. Everything will be alive again–it will become normal and not seem so much like a gift anymore. Then the winds of the north will blow again–just to remind us of where we live and to make every day this spring–a gift–

So–while we wait–we will enjoy the days of sun and 45 degrees–and know that the days of warmth and long days are coming. They are.

So happy waiting to all my northern friends–go outside and play!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 12:01 pm

    Yes.
    I truly think
    that those of us
    with looong seasons
    {i.e., winter} DO
    appreciate the
    springs even more
    than the rest.
    Looks like a fun day,
    soaking up the sun!!
    xx Suzanne

  2. March 31, 2011 7:02 pm

    We’ve been out as much as possible lately too. It’s wonderful! And yes, those south of us may wonder why we get excited about temps in the 40’s, but right out in the sun in the afternoon it really does feel warmer! And we’ll take it!

  3. April 4, 2011 9:34 pm

    Hope your spring arrives soon! (Love that swing, by the way!)

Leave a Reply

