Skip to content

Recipe Box Project: Donuts

November 16, 2010

I finally resorted back to the tried and true.   Buried in the back of My Recipe Box on a little slip of paper is written–“Donuts”– I have tried so many different recipes for donuts–or doughnuts–for the word connoisseurs–I prefer donuts.  I am not exactly sure why–but maybe it is just easier to type.  No–that’s not it–I like the way it looks.  You know when you see a word and it just doesn’t sit well with you–I prefer donut.  Short and Sweet–just like this recipe.  If you are a food connoisseur as opposed to a word connoisseur–you may not want to see the rest of this post.  Why you ask?

This is it. A can from the refrigerated section of your local grocery store. I have tried to make my own dough–using recipes from different sources–but this can–and this recipe–passed down for generations–ok well–I learned it from my mom. It is still the best.

I have felt the guilt for years. I would make my homemade donuts–wait expectantly for the praise of my children–only to receive–mild reviews. I am sorry–but donuts of any kind should receive shouts of glory from even the most melonchally.   When you spend 30 minutes mixing dough and then another 40 minutes waiting for it to rise–frying it in shortning–smothering it in sugar and icing–and then they only eat one–not good enough for me.  I finally gave in this last week and made my canned donuts.  I cut the hole out with the lid to the bottle of vanilla.  Yes–at least my icing was homemade.

Drop them into a pan of hot oil–turn them once and they are golden and light and fluffy–I used Crisco–but a healthier oil would work. But actually–why bother–a can of biscuits and sugar–think about it.  Maybe some of that guilt is still lingering.

I drain them on paper towels a little.

Then into the sugar they go. I made half of them with a cinnamon/sugar mixture and half with a vanilla icing. The winner was the cinnamon/sugar mixture. I like them both–equally–

There is just something about creamy white icing. I could eat it on almost anything. Melted butter, powdered sugar, cream, and vanilla. Any donut would love to be dipped into this creation–well–except for my homemade donuts.

Now–do these look like they came out of little blue can? They may not be Krispy Kreme Donuts–but as for me and my house–we will eat canned donuts.

And these faces are the only reason I need. The guilt is gone and I will forever embrace the canned donuts. I only made one can–which only made 12–I will have to double my recipe next time.

Simple and Sweet–just the way I like it.

TastyTuesday200pix

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 4:27 pm

    THOSE look delicious!

  2. Anne permalink
    November 16, 2010 5:57 pm

    I’ve been trying to find a good recipe & this looks like a simple one to try. I’ve been trying to find a recipe that you make then pour into a waffle iron with a donut plate, but I’m losing hope of finding it. Going to give this a try-I’m sure it’ll be great!

  3. Angela permalink
    November 16, 2010 6:07 pm

    Thanks for all the photos & touch of reality. I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for weeks. Seeing your kids enjoy it is encouraging. My kids will still probably prefer grocery store doughnuts, but it’s worth a try.

  4. November 16, 2010 6:42 pm

    I haven’t thought about those in years! Yup, that’s what I grew up with, too. We usually didn’t have anything to “cut” holes with, so my mom would just poke a hole in the middle with her fingers and stretch it out a bit…sometimes they tried to close back up, but worked fine. In fact, I just mentioned this to my daughter (who’s almost 18) it’s been so long since I have made them this way she doesn’t even remember. Guess they’ll be going on our menu for a treat this week! Thanks for the memories!!

  5. November 16, 2010 9:40 pm

    So funny that you chose now to post about these. Dustin introduced me to them, and we recently made them when Linz was here. Then we had a promotion this last Sunday…Make Your Own Donut Sunday! And we had seven kids, including one new boy! Praise the Lord! …and Yum!

  6. November 17, 2010 7:40 am

    My family uses this same recipe as well. I have memories from Sunday mornings of my childhood when my dad used to make these! 🙂 I am not a fan of donuts; these are the only ones I will eat-absolutely love them!

  7. November 17, 2010 3:54 pm

    We made these growing up every Christmas morning. They were so good. Awww, memories.

  8. November 17, 2010 5:57 pm

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I love donuts, the temptation to make them is great. Sadly I think the temptation to eat lots would be greater! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

