Skip to content

Give Thanks

November 11, 2010

I wanted to give an update on the Thirty Day Challenge. We have given for 10 days now. Not always how I had planned–and that was my fear. I am a planner and if I don’t do what is on my list, I tend to feel like I have failed. This challenge has been a great reminder–once again–I need to look at the trees, even when the forest gets in the way.

One of the first things I accomplished was the plan. This board is a great accomplishment for me. The plan says a 2 1/2 hour project–but it took me most all of the day. I love it and I would do it all over again. It will last from year to year and the kids love writing down how we have Given Thanks for the day.  Please visit Jelly Bean Junkyard for a great step by step tutorial for making this board.

We spent the first few days baking a lot! We gave banana bread, pumpkin bread, and cookies to neighbors and friends. We made gift bags for college students–

We sent letters and updated pictures to my 93 year old grandmother. We were chugging a long pretty well–then we hit a snag–

At first it seemed to be a snag–my long lost son and daughter in law arrived–I became busy with mothering them–at the end of that first day–my kids said, “mom-what are we going to do for today?”–I was at a loss. I felt like I had failed for the day. I then realized that I had Given Thanks to my Dustin and Andrea-and there were no two other people on that day I would have rather given my time.

Day 2 of the snag–My old boy Duke became very sick.  He is not eating or drinking–I spent day 10 taking him to the vet and deciding the best plan for him.  He is home and resting.  He has a very bad infection and we are hoping to have him eating within 24 hours.  Again–I didn’t do something on my list–but to go through scenarios with an 11 year old boy who loves his dog–and a 10 year old girl about whether dogs go to heaven–that is Giving Thanks.   *Update on Duke–he is eating today!*

10 days are gone–and our hearts are in tune–to each other and to others–we are Giving Thanks–it is a blessing in this world to look around and see the needs of those near and far–

and we look forward to the next 10 days

–so–how is it going for you?

Ephesians 5:20

Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ;

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 2:35 pm

    I think that is the biggest blessing that I received from the 30-Day Challenge last year…a heart more in tune with other people and their needs. It is so easy for me to get caught up with the things of my daily life, even if they are part of my service to God, and forget about PEOPLE. This last year has been a lesson in following the Holy Spirit’s leading in being a blessing to other people…a channel of God’s grace to others! Thank you for the reminders/updates.

  2. November 11, 2010 4:38 pm

    I updated my post to include yours! You can check it out here:
    http://jellybeanjunkyard.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/its-not-too-late/
    THANK YOU!

  3. Dianne permalink
    November 12, 2010 1:44 am

    Glad to hear Duke is eating! 🙂 What a Very special task/Goal! We did something similar but, not as in depth… but I will work on this for next year! LOVE IT!

  4. November 13, 2010 7:45 am

    Wonderful post, Vonda!
    Right now I am giving
    thanks for all of the
    inspiring and empowering
    women in my blog world.
    Thank you for being a part
    of it!
    xx Suzanne

Trackbacks

  1. It’s Not Too Late! | Jellybean Junkyard
  2. We Need a Little Christmas « Following Splendor

Leave a Reply

