Skip to content

Cinnamon Rolls

October 29, 2010
I was in the mood to prepare for my Thanksgiving Challenge-and Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls popped into my head. They actually pop into my head a lot here lately. It must be the cool-dark nights heading into winter. These are hands down THE BEST CINNAMON ROLLS ON THE PLANET–sorry for shouting–but they really are.
I wanted to share some tips I have picked up-since this is my second batch of these-I have learned a lot.  Ok–not really A LOT–but some things that might help you if you would like to make these for me —  to be a blessing to me –so I don’t have to clean up all the flour off of the counter–never mind–I like making them–
First tip*  Refridgerate the dough for a couple of hours before rolling them out–you don’t have to–it just makes it easier to work with.
Second tip*  After you melt the butter to pour all over the dough–let it cool some–the butter will not run off the edges onto the counter so much and all that butter stays in your cinnamon roll.
Third tip*  Use dental floss to cut the rolls–I saw this somewhere and it sure beats messing with a knife.  It really works.
Fourth tip*  Do not be selfish and save all 7 pans for yourself–they make about 50 cinnamon rolls–share.
Fifth tip* Do not tell your children that the icing has coffee in it. If you do not like coffee and you think you wouldn’t like these–you are crazy. That’s it–
Sixth tip* These freeze really-really well. I froze 4 pans for some very special people that are coming in exactly 10 days!!! I will only have to let them thaw-rise-then bake and put the icing on–no cleaning up the counter!
What did I do with the other 3 pans-you ask? Well–I gave one to a neighbor–we ate one–and I was going to give another to a friend at Church that I have not been able to talk to since ‘I Love America Sunday”–but I forgot them at home–so I guess we will eat them and she will get some when I make another batch–maybe at Christmas time. If she is nice to me–
Go to Pioneer Woman to get the recipe–I cannot improve on perfection–

Photobucket

Tidy Mom I'm Lovin It Fridays
13 Comments leave one →
  1. Dianne permalink
    October 29, 2010 2:05 pm

    THANK YOU, Vonda!!! We have been looking for a really good cinnamon roll recipe… tried two in the past couple of months and they weren’t that great…. I can’t wait to try these!

  2. October 29, 2010 3:08 pm

    I just found your post from Simply Sweet Home: Friday.

    These look so delicious. I wish I had the time to try this recipe.

  3. October 29, 2010 5:09 pm

    Lucky ME….I just met
    Ree at the Creative Connection
    in September and bought
    the book to have her sign!
    I haven’t tried these yet,
    but will not that I am armed
    with your wonderful tips, Vonda!
    Thank you for sharing your
    inside information {hee hee}!!
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    xx Suzanne

  4. Jillian permalink
    October 29, 2010 5:45 pm

    I have been wanting to make these for several years now. I am convinced I need to quit putting this off and get to baking! Thanks for sharing your tips. 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  5. October 29, 2010 8:09 pm

    My mom made these rolls for me – they are irresistable!!!!!

  6. October 29, 2010 11:55 pm

    Those very special people you mentioned…would I happen to be one of them? I just counted for Lindsey, and it will be ten sleeps until we arrive…which would match up with your ten days –? Oh, I hope so. I am missing family and cinnamon rolls right about now.
    Can’t wait to get there!…especially if they ARE for us!

  7. October 30, 2010 9:46 am

    I can’t think of any more special peoples!! I am counting the days–and we miss Lindsey too!

  8. clarboe91 permalink
    October 30, 2010 12:07 pm

    I’m nice to you! I’m nice to you! I’m nice to you! You’re so nice, and sweet, and kind, and charitable, and wonderful, and charming, and eloquent, and fantastic, and talented, and musical, and splendiferous, and… OK, that’s enough! lol. The cinnamon rolls look wonderful, and I’m glad that you get to share them with some truly wonderful people in about 9 sleeps.

  9. October 30, 2010 8:45 pm

    Oh, yummy, yummy! I have the Pioneer Woman cookbook and have drooled over these but haven’t made them yet. Thanks for the extra tips! I can’t eat wheat very often for health reasons, but these deserve an exception once in a while!

  10. November 1, 2010 9:37 pm

    That is a seriously delicious looking cinnamon roll (well all the pans look good). Looks like you have a lot of goodness to share around. By the way, I’m holding a CSN giveaway on my blog and you’re welcome to come by and enter. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2010/11/45-csn-giveaway.html

  11. November 4, 2010 5:01 pm

    Those look super yummy! I’m definitely heading over there to get the recipe!

    Thanks for linking up for Friday Favorites! Hope to see you again this week!

  12. November 6, 2010 2:23 pm

    I have never made cinnamon rolls before! These look excellent! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

