Skip to content

This is for Dustin

October 20, 2010

I love living in the mid-west in the fall. There is nothing like an autumn day with bright sunshine and a little nip in the air. We take advantage of every day it is above freezing here in my beloved Michigan. Now my son and daughter in law eloped were married and ran off moved to Pennsylvania. Since that time my son has pined away after his loss of Michigan cider mills.

Even while he was in college in Indiana, he would still long for the Pure Michigan cider and donuts. Even during my last conversation with Dustin, he talked about a great apple festival he and Andrea had found–but he was so disappointed that no one had heard of having donuts with their apple cider.  It must be a regional tradition–like Philly Cheese Steak instead of an Italian Beef.

It was a yearly tradition in our home.  We would take off on a warm-sunny-fall afternoon and make the trek to the cider mill.  The family would all wait patiently while I browsed the gift shop-then we would watch the cider being freshly pressed.  The most coveted moment was the time to buy the warm donuts and gallon jug of cider. We would rush outside to eat the donuts while they were still warm. Sometimes the wind would be whipping and we would have to stay in the shelter of tarp covered patio-other times we would sit outside at the picnic tables and swat bees. But each time-we would fill up on the donuts and cider and then off on a haunted wagon ride.

So–Dustin–this is for you. We keep up the tradition and we still go to the cider mill.   Adam and Catie are learning what it means to have those warm donuts and cider-and swat the bees. And don’t worry–I did just as your wife would do–we bought an extra dozen and they are waiting in the freezer for you.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 7:59 am

    What a beautiful fun fall tradition. Our donuts are alway blueberry cake donuts. Yummy!

  2. October 21, 2010 11:11 am

    Utterly jealous. At least we have apple cider–but alas for the donuts!

  3. October 30, 2010 8:41 pm

    Hi Vonda – I haven’t stopped by in quite a while. I think I originally found your blog through Life With My 3 Boybarians and was a reader for a few months before I accidentally deleted some blogs saved under my Bookmarks. (Now that I’ve found you again, I’ll be sure to subscribe!)

    I’m in SW Michigan, and I love everything about fall here too – the apples, the cider, the donuts, the colors … It’s been an absolutely beautiful fall this year, hasn’t it?

    • October 30, 2010 9:09 pm

      I am so glad you found me again–I saved you on my homepage so I can visit you also–yes–I love Michigan–I just escape in January because winter and I can only put up with each other for so long:).

      • November 1, 2010 10:32 am

        You’re right about that – by February or earlier, I’m so tired of winter. It’s all pretty at first, but eventually the gray clouds and dirty snow begin to weigh on you.

Leave a Reply

