Skip to content

Recipe Box Project: Potato Soup

October 19, 2010
The Recipe Box Project continues.  I have been cooking-I just haven’t been taking pictures of my food.  My pictures have been of football-apple orchards-and all things fall.  I just started shooting my pictures in Manual Mode-which is huge for me-so all my pictures for this post are shot on Manual Mode on my camera!  That may be Greek to a lot of you-it only means that I am deciding the camera settings instead of the camera doing it for me—–
But I still have this box full of recipes that need to be in cyberspace for as long as this computer age lasts.
Now that the weather has cooled down, soups are always on the menu.  This a family favorite.  My oldest daughter actually makes it the best.  She knew exactly how much of everything to put in to make it just right.  It is a stand a lone meal for us.  It is good all by its lonesome.  I don’t remember where this recipe came from.  It is pretty old.  I remember going to some friends home for a Christmas potluck and Potato Soup was on the menu.  They had ordered it from their favorite restaurant.  It was so rich and creamy-better than any watered down potato soup I had ever had.  I was on a mission to try to duplicate the flavors.  The recipe I have is on computer paper-so I am assuming-it is from someone’s home computer file–but we have added so much to change it-it is actually our family recipe now.
This ingredients are very simple.  But beware–there is a lot of dairy in this soup.  To me that just means I try not to let it boil or it gets this grainy and curdled texture.  You can use full fat versions of the milk and sour cream and butter or you can tone it down with low fat milk and sour cream and you can also just add margarine.  A lot of times we add cheese too!
Slice and dice the potatoes and put them in a pot and cover them with water-just cover them because you will not drain off any of the water.  Potato water is so good–all that starch helps to thicken the soup.
This is where the soup starts to smell like Potato Soup. I know it is the pepper. There is something about pepper and potatoes–
After the potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes, add the Cream of Chicken soup, the ham, the butter and let all that heat up and thicken a bit. Then I add the milk and the sour cream last. With each addtion, the smell gets better and the soup gets thick and rich.
That’s all there is to it. It is very quick and easy to put together. During this time of year-that is very important to us. Football starts at 5:30-we always eat before practice–why? I have this thing against eating dinner at 8:00 pm-unless it is a 4th meal–not dinner.
POTATO SOUP

8-10 Medium Russet Potatoes-peeled and diced
1 large family size can of Cream of Chicken soup
1 lb ham-cubed
Salt and Pepper to taste
2 Cups milk
8 oz Sour cream
1 Stick Butter
2 Cups shredded Cheddar cheese-optional

Peel and dice potatoes-add just enough water to cover. Bring to a boil and cook until potatoes are tender-about 15 minutes. Add salt and pepper, ham, butter, cream of chicken soup-mix and cook until heated through. Add milk and sour cream and cheese if desired. Cook just until heated through. Enjoy!
Beauty and Bedlam
5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 9:26 pm

    Are you super careful to put the recipes back in the box exactly like you found them? ‘Cause the first picture always looks the same….

    🙂

  2. October 21, 2010 9:18 am

    No…I usually put the recipe to the back of the box–I should actually put them all on neat little recipe cards-but there are too many memories with the handwritten ones–I guess that makes me a recipe hoarder–

  3. October 21, 2010 11:10 am

    OK, everyone, I know you may be thinking that this is just another “online recipe.” For real, try this out. It is about as simple as you can get, and you will be rewarded! This is one of my favorite recipes from home, and it has never gotten old to me. Yes, what I am about to say is taboo, but I had my wife call my mom and get this recipe last year, just because I had a craving for my mom’s potato soup. Now that I see this, we will probably be having sometime in the next few days…

  4. October 22, 2010 7:57 pm

    Potato soup is one of my husband’s favorites! Glad you found me and thanks for the comment you left on my blog! Love meeting new online friends, especially ones that share their great recipes!

  5. Jillian permalink
    October 29, 2010 5:47 pm

    We love potato soup! Your’s looks absolutely delicious! I am subscribing. 🙂

    http://heartofacountryhome.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

