Skip to content

Old Fashioned Sunday 2010

September 28, 2010

Our Church celebrated 40 years of service to the NW Indiana area on Sunday, September 26, 2010.  It wasn’t a day to celebrate ourselves or even those who have worked so hard over those 40 years.  It was a day of service once again.  It was a day in which the visitors out numbered the members-or at least it seemed.  It was a day to remember all that the Lord has done in 40 years.  I wish I could say I have been a part here for those 40 years–or at least half of those–but our time here is new.  As with any family, once you become a part, it seems like you have always been there.  Your heart shares in the trials of the past and rejoices with the successes of the now.  We had visitors come and share in part of the day with us.  They said,  “I have never been around so many people who have such a bond–it is so obvious.”  My heart swelled with warmth because of the goodness of our God.  That is the bond we all share.  We share in knowing Jesus Christ–and His love.

John 13:35

By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.

The day was filled with Old Fashioned activities.  Our main interest besides entertaining our guests-was the baking contest.

This was our Catie’s entry for the 12 and under pie category.  Decadent Brownie Pie.  She found this recipe on one of the blogs I frequent–Let’s Dish.  I knew it looked so elegant-yet the recipe was so easy for her to do.  She did a wonderful job. 

Here is the whole table full of cookies, cakes and pies.  I labeled Catie’s pie so you could pick it out of the crowd.  There was another table full of desserts on the other side. 

And here is the distinguished panel of judges.  I could never be a judge.  I was done tasting after 2 bites of cookies.  I think they were amazing. 

And the winner is….

She was so excited.  I couldn’t get her to stop smiling all night.  Her first blue ribbon.

Old Fashioned was the theme for the day.  From the meeting in the tent for a meal and Old Fashioned games and events–hay rides, horseback riding, bobbing for apples–and everyone dressing for the occasion.  I wish I had pictures of everyone.  I think there was 100 percent participation. 

It was a beautiful day–if not a bit windy–not so great for all the beautiful hats.

This is who I am hitting up to make me a dress next Old Fashioned Sunday.  Mrs. Tammie made her dress and her daughters and others wandering around…

Although, Mrs. Victoria made her dress and countless others too…so many talented giving people. 

My munchkins enjoyed this day so much–they learned so much.  They saw so many people giving of their time and talents to serve others.  They learned that it is so much more blessed to give than to receive. 

And Miss Lindsey–she enjoyed this day so much too–she was everywhere and enjoyed every minute. 

And these two are right out of a story book. 

After the evening service, we all gathered together one last time to end the day together.  We presented our Pastor with a new pulpit.  State of the art–it is beautiful.  This was the time we all came together–we shared in a very special day.  We heard from our Pastor–how much he loves us and how we are a family.  From this out pouring of love we have for one another–we go our separate ways–we greet the world–we share what we know with the world–and look forward to when we can be together again.  We gain our strength from one another.  We share each others burdens and we share in each others joys.  That is how God planned it all.  I am so thankful to be right in the middle of God’s plan. 

And this…will be the only time you will see my hero behind a pulpit.  

The end of a perfect day.  With so many more to look forward to—

James 1:17

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.

*For more great pictures and details of the day visit  Brooke’s Insights and Innermost Aspirations.
10 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan McNeilly permalink
    September 28, 2010 10:41 pm

    Very nice, Mom#2! 🙂 Wish we could have been there to enjoy it too! Wow…that pulpit is huge! Im so glad Preacher was able to get a new one…Im sure he greatly appreciates it. It is wonderful to have such a wonderful church family and to all be united. I should show you some of the pics from our Old Fashioned days and the dresses my mom use to make me wear! 🙂 Glad the day went well! Oh and GREAT job, Catie!
    ~Susie

  2. September 28, 2010 10:51 pm

    Thanks for this awesome post! I am so glad all three of you decided to post on it! It definitely made me feel like I was a part!!! I am so glad you had such a wonderful day together!

  3. September 28, 2010 11:09 pm

    Right smack dab in the middle of God’s plan! The best place we could ever be! The only place I ever want to be!!! :o)

    What a wonderful day of fun and fellowship! Those dresses are something else! And how cool is that blue ribbon?? Now if they needed a judge for tasting salsa, I could definitely do that, but not sweets!!

    So glad you enjoyed being part of such a wonderful blessing! Church families are the best!
    Have a Happy Wednesday!
    HUGS,
    Becky

  4. September 28, 2010 11:21 pm

    Oh my goodness! That’s so exciting about the blue ribbon for the brownie pie. It really is one of my favorites because it is easy but still elegant. Tell your daughter congratulations.

  5. September 29, 2010 5:59 am

    Your church sounds
    like a very wonderful
    place to be ~ and to
    be part of! What a
    perfect way to celebrate
    such a milestone….
    Everyone appears to
    be just glowing with
    pride! It amazes me
    that our fellow country-
    men and women are
    moving away from
    churches, when in fact,
    society has never had
    a greater need. Thanks
    for sharing the blessed
    day with us!
    xx Suzanne

  6. September 29, 2010 11:15 am

    Thanks so much for the post and the pictures. It is SO great to see those. Thank you! Forty years! Wow! Praise the Lord! He has definitely used the people at Fairhaven to do a very special work.

    CONGRATULATIONS to Catie on the cake. That looks SO good! Very impressive!

    Thanks again for the pictures!

  7. tabitha hughes permalink
    September 29, 2010 5:46 pm

    Thanks soo much for sharing..I love seeing all the pictures from everyones post..It brings a little bit home all the way out here in Utah..I even saw my daddy on the panel of judges..that is hilarious!! Congratulations Catie..your pie looked delicious!!!
    Tab 🙂

  8. September 29, 2010 9:11 pm

    It sure was wonderful to play a part in our church’s special day, wasn’t it? Thanks for sharing your pictures; you captured alot of different ones then I did. I especially liked the ones of the panel of judges as well as your hero behind Preacher’s pulpit!

  9. Alyssa permalink
    October 2, 2010 12:44 am

    beautiful pictures!

  10. September 20, 2012 8:34 pm

    Our church had old fashioned Sunday last year around this time. I can’t wait until this years. Do you know where they got the dresses i need one bad. i HAVE a georgeous cloak

Leave a Reply

