Skip to content

Recipe Box Project: Raspberry Jam/Syrup

September 7, 2010

 

This is one of the recipes out of my Recipe Box that I am not quite why I keep it in there.  The recipe is inside every box of Sure Jell.  Maybe I am afraid they will change the recipe and I will never be able to make Raspberry Jam exactly the same again. 

I absolutely adore our local Farmer’s Market.  I go there every Wednesday to buy everything there what I haven’t been able to grow on my own.  There is really nothing like it.  Last week I picked up these beautiful raspberries-my hero’s favorite-I knew exactly what to do with them.  Buy six pints-four for jam and syrup and two to just eat. 

The ingredients are so simple, I didn’t even have to label them this time.  I like to buy cane sugar to jam and jellies.  I don’t know why.  I just read somewhere that it was better.  That is why my hero says he doesn’t read as much as I do.  He says I have all of this information inside my head that makes things more difficult.  But–he loves me anyway. 

I start by putting clean new lids and bands into a pan of boiling water and then turn down to the heat to simmer while the raspberries are jamming.

I also make sure to have my clean jars boiling away also.  Kills anything bad that might be hanging out to ruin my party.  I love this pot.  It is not a pan-it is a pot.  Anything bigger than my burner becomes a pot instead of a (sauce, frying) pan. 

I mash the four pints of raspberries with a potato masher and add the sure-jell and bring the pan to a boil.  The package says to use 1 pouch.  I use about 1/4 of another package.  Just insurance.  I don’t like runny jam.   Oh-and don’t use a wooden spoon like I did.  I love using wooden utensils, but I now own a light red wooden spoon.  I am sure after a couple of times in the dishwasher it will be a beautiful shade of pink. 

Bring this mixture to a full rolling boil on high heat, stirring constantly to be sure to turn that wooden spoon nice and red.  Stir in sugar quickly.  I don’t have a picture of stirring in the sugar because I didn’t have time.  It says quickly.  Return to a full rolling boil and boil for 1 minute. 

While I am waiting for my mixure to boil-I pull piping hot jars out the canner and place them on a towel.   Notice I used a red towel.  Not so smart with the wooden spoon though. 

Here is another trick I read somewhere.  Keep a glass of ice water nearby in case the mixture explodes–

No really-keep a glass of icewater with a spoon in it.  After the mixture has boiled for 1 minute-I put the cold spoon into the mixture.  If the jam runs right off the spoon-it needs more cooking-if it hangs out there-it is ready. 

Ladle the dangerously hot mixture into sterilized jars.  Wipe the rims clean and put the lid and bands on.  I use a towel to hold the jars while placing the bands and lids.  Those little jars are hot. 

Then place the jars back into the hot water bath and process for 10 minutes on a gentle boil.  The water must cover the jars by 1-2 inches. 

Here we are.  All bathed and clean.  Enough to give away and to last us through the long cold winter.  This is good on toast-bisquits-and icecream. 

Be sure to label your jams-you don’t want jam hanging out in your pantry for 4 years or something.  Happy jamming!

*For Syrup-I used the same process only I didn’t add the Sure-Jell.  I discovered this little secret by accident.  Makes a wonderful syrup we love on waffles and pancakes.  I can’t wait for spring–I am going to try my hand at real Maple syrup–here is a sneak peak at how I am going to accomplish that task when it takes 10 gallons of sap for 1 quart of syrup!  Can’t get sap at the Farmer’s Market–but we can get it here–I am so excited! 

TastyTuesday200pix Welcome to my new home   Tasty Tuesday

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    September 8, 2010 9:16 am

    Okay, I just made strawberry freezer jam for the first time this weekend! I’ll swap you a jar for some raspberry jam!

    Also, did you know that if you had the bamboo spoons from The Pampered Chef – they don’t stain! Just a little tip! I love my bamboo spoons! (I do sell Pampered Chef) 😉

  2. September 8, 2010 1:35 pm

    I made jam/jelly a long time ago when I was a kid. I should try it again – looks good!

  3. September 8, 2010 8:50 pm

    I used to be a big canner
    before kids and now I’m
    finding my way back to
    it! This sounds absolutely
    delicious….raspberries are
    my all-time favorite fruit!!!
    Thanks for sharing your
    wonderful recipe.
    xx Suzanne

  4. September 9, 2010 10:00 pm

    Okay, now I am really itching to try canning jams and jellies! We are really beginning to hone this skill!

Leave a Reply

