Skip to content

September

September 1, 2010

 

There comes a time when autumn asks,
“What have you been doing all summer?”

I ask myself that question at the start of every September.  The seemingly carefree summer is still here.  The sun warms my back now in the garden, instead of my face.  The warmth is still here only more mellow.  The moon has a veil over the fields at night.  I wake to a still dark sky. 

We have had our day and our fill of the fruits of summer.  Shoes are still a taunt to a far off day.  Routine has started as the bounty of season is here.  Days of school and afternoons of picking and preserving what summer is still giving. 

Autumn is yet to be here.  Yet the air is different–sings a new tune–one I have heard before.  Autumn is nodding its head as it nudges its way here.  I cry it is still September.  I win the discourse for today.

My eyes still seach for the colors of spring.  They are still here-yet they are not in flower beds and groomed.  They are wild in their voices and the still violet flower is but a thistle amid the gold. 

The change is coming.  What was once fresh and new is showing its age as one season too many.  The signs are all around and the sun makes it way to the southern sky. We wish we could follow–but we know that we must change too.  To every time there is a season.  Our hearts need to settle in-and nestle in with routine.  We evaluate and assess.  What will change-what needs to change.  The dying will bring life after death.  We see it year after year-yet-we dread. 

We wait.  A leaf will fall.  We accept the change and hope for what the change will bring.  We cannot see it now. Summer is still here.  The air is still warm.  The leaves are still green.  The bees are still buzzing and the birds are still near.  It is only but September. I am not ready for the leaves to fall.  As we move into the shadows of Autumn, it is the night that brings the day of spring. 

Ecclesiastes 3:1

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 11:49 pm

    Truly, autumn is my absolute favorite season of the year! Love your photos, as always!

  2. Andrea Speckhals permalink
    September 2, 2010 11:24 am

    Sorry, but I am the opposite…these lingering 90-degree days are making me really look forward to autumn! Although I do love the canning, preserving, and freezing of summer’s harvest! I can get a little carried away with it in fact!
    Your writing style is beautiful, though!

  3. Jamie permalink
    September 3, 2010 9:11 am

    I love autumn! The colors, the smell, the crunching of the leaves! If it could be autumn all year, life would be better!

  4. September 3, 2010 10:06 am

    I LOVED this poetry/prose, whatever you call it. I, too, share your reluctance to see summer go, but look forward to fall, as well. It is a very special time of year. Your writing is great, though. I read it in my English class as one of our poems for the day. Thanks!

  5. September 3, 2010 11:06 am

    Beautiful words, Vonda!
    Here in Minnesota, it
    was darn COLD last night….
    When I took out our pup
    this morning, I shivered
    as I urged her to hurry up;
    it truly felt like autumn is
    on its way! Of course, there
    will be indian summer, which
    is always glorious. Speaking
    of glorious, your pictures
    are wonderful! My camera
    was stolen on the way back
    from my parents {new dslr
    in April} so I’m biding my
    time until I get a new one and
    now am back to the old : (
    I see that you follow, Kim K,
    too ~ thanks for noticing that
    I won her e-book!
    Happy weekend,
    xx Suzanne

  6. clarboe91 permalink
    September 3, 2010 12:58 pm

    Your writing style is so deep and thoughtful. The pictures are truly beautiful. Fall is one of my favorites seasons as well. I love nature in all of it’s colorful glory. I don’t think that I would want autumn year-round though. That would mean having to rake CONSTANTLY and I can’t stand raking! Love the leaves, don’t love the mess. It’s just me, I guess.

  7. September 3, 2010 1:45 pm

    Hi Vonda
    Oh my, what lovely words you have shared…and images….. extraordinary.
    and what a pretty banner too!!

    🙂

    your sweet comments today made my day!! so kind… thank you!! truly…..

    i haven’t thought of blog designing…but maybe one day… that’d be pretty darn fun.

    I’m so glad you have come so far in such a short time… really it’s amazing… and oh so exciting!!

    xxo, kim

  8. September 3, 2010 2:38 pm

    Wow, beautiful, inspiring read.

  9. September 4, 2010 5:57 am

    Like Andrea, I say, “Hurry up and get over with already, summer!” Bring on the colored trees, apple orchards, and cool, refreshing days! I have a feeling that Andrea and I will be praising the coming of fall in a month or so at our site.

Leave a Reply

