Skip to content

Metamorphosis: An Update–Revisited

August 27, 2010

It must be the season for Monarch Butterflies.  I officially have my children hooked on the wonders of the ugly worm that changes into the beautiful butterfly

 We were on our way to football practice when my boy saw the milkweed at a stop sign.  We looked a little closer–and there it was–a caterpillar.  The kids begged to stop and bring him home.  We did stop after practice. 

 We are now official caretakers of not one–but two Monarch caterpillars–one of which is already in its cocoon–and the other is in its J shape and will be in its cocoon later today. I know it is really a chrysalis-but cocoon is easier to type  At least I didn’t have to feed them much. 

A little tidbit for you.  These butterflies will be the fourth generation of the season.  They will come out of their cocoon and will migrate to California or Mexico for the winter.  They will return to the place of their birth to mate and start the next generation of Monarch butterfies.  So–I am wondering–Do you think I messed them up because I removed them from the place of their birth to 7 miles down the road and put them in a jar?  I’m not sure we will ever know.

I did my job.  I am satisfied.  I will no longer pine after the illustrious Monarch Butterfly offspring.  Because now my children will.  It has been passed on.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 5:45 pm

    Well, I don’t know about the butterfly, but that’s a great gift to give to their children…to see the wonder of Creation & praise the Creator for His amazing work! It’s so neat to see science in action.

  2. September 7, 2010 9:15 am

    Just curious but once these emerge from their cocoon will it be too late for them to fly to warmer climates? How long are they in this cocoon?

    I read your last post on the monarch caterpillar you kept. See! Your interest in it really did spark them. That’s great!

    Elisabeth

    • September 7, 2010 12:54 pm

      They are still in their chrysalis–I think one will emerge within the next couple of days–and the other later this week. They are there for about 2 weeks. I hope it is not too late for them!

Leave a Reply

