Skip to content

Ahh!…The End of a Beautiful Summer!

August 24, 2010

 

To stay in line with the current theme of family blogging with Be Instant and Pick Me Up Papers, here is my rendition of the end of a beautiful summer…Southwest Michigan style.  I would say Northwest Indiana style, but that would involve railroad tracks and the toll road.  I think I will stick with Michigan style; although, Northwest Indiana people and Chicago play a huge part in this drama.

Summer never seems to last long.  Sometimes it seems as if we have done so much in such a short time.  Memories happen everyday.  Summer is great for making memories.  Everything seems easier in the summer.   We take trips because there is no school to bog us down.  We don’t travel much in the summer.  We have our own paradise right here at home.  We don’t want to leave.  Ok–so going to see Dustin and Andrea–we did leave to visit them.  And would do it again.

I love seeing other parts of this country.  I am really not ready to visit other countries until I have the chance to experience all our beautiful country has to offer.  Next year, out West–until then we won’t venture far from our home.  Ok–so–going to Florida to grab more summer in January–then we won’t go anywhere.

One place not far from home is Chicago!  I love going to Chicago with friends.  I mostly enjoy going to Chicago with friends to eat. 

You can see how much fun it is to eat with friends. 

Friends make waiting for 2 hours to eat because your driver got lost in Chicago and you missed your reservation so much nicer. 

And eating with friends makes you feel less guilty for all the food you ate because they understand you may never eat this food again at this time ever again.

As the summer days wind down–I am here every chance I get.  It is good exercise after all.  My hero says sitting on the side of the pool with my feet in the water drinking a Diet Coke and reading is not exercise.  Someone has to watch the kids.

Summer in Michigan is a little slice of heaven–normally.  We have had our fair share of severe weather this summer.  Anyone who knows me knows I am the resident Meteorologist.  I can tell you the forecast at any given moment.  This summer has given me a run for my money.  Storm after storm has invaded my paradise one too many times this summer.  I guess there has to be a little rain sometimes.

This summer has also been the summer of science experiments.  Some successful–

And–some not so successful. 

There were good intentions here.  We bought this aquarium to house these little tadpoles saved from a mud puddle, sure to dry up with all the hot weather.  We bought them food–watched them start to grow legs.  We put rocks in the bottom of the aquarium so they wouldn’t drown when they became frogs–then we left for our house in Indiana and left them on the front porch for 3 days in 98 degree weather.  We had boiled frogs when we came home that Monday morning. 

We had so many beautiful weddings in our Church this summer.  I love weddings.  I love the cake. 

This summer, we have also pretended like we were camping many nights.  My philosophy is why spend a week shopping for food, packing a camper or a tent to go stay in the woods so you can have a camp fire?  Why not just make a camp fire in your own back yard and do all those fun camping things, then go inside and crawl into your nice soft-dry bed?  Makes sense to me.  My hero keeps threatening me with a camper.

Summers really are meant for fun with friends and family.  I love the water.  I love the smell of the lake.  I love the color of the lake.  I love the look on the faces of people we take on the lake.

Really–she is having fun.

And he thinks he is having fun–until the next morning.

Look at how happy they are.  Please notice that the boat has not started moving yet and her hair is not wet–yet.

So we squeeze in one last baseball game under the night lights.  We eat frozen lemonade just to stay cool.  We watch Brandon Inge, of the Detroit Tigers, play for our local Minor League team because he is healing from an injury.  We sing Take Me Out to the Ballgame.  We drive home late–but it doesn’t matter because we still don’t need to be up early.

Time always slips away.  Summer days seem to flow one right into another until the end is right there.  The last day teases you.  You never know when it will be the last day of summer.  Eventually, Summer always runs out.  Until then, we grab what is left and hold onto the memories of long warm days, laughter with family and friends, trips to far away places, frogs and butterflies, and storms that pass in the night. 

Here’s to summer–
tuesdays unwrapped at cats

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 7:13 am

    so many beautiful memories. i never knew how much summer SE Michigan could have! thanks for sharing!

  2. August 24, 2010 11:45 am

    Wow, so many memories, it looks like you had a wonderful summer. You have shared so many beautiful pictures. I had to laugh at your camper comment. We have one. My hubby is always pushing to go, but has no idea how much work it is. I am always happy when we arrive and I can relax, but the getting ready for the relaxation is a lot sometimes.

  3. melissaruncie permalink
    August 24, 2010 1:09 pm

    what an active and ful filled summer you had…i didn’t get to do as much as I hoped…many, many lazy summer days…but it was a joy to rest!

  4. August 24, 2010 1:36 pm

    Loved the pictures and comments. I fully agree with the camping idea. There’s something special about having a campfire with family & friends, but there’s absolutely no need to sleep in a tent and get so dirty, etc. The water fun is a great addition to the summer, as well. And baseball games! We have a AAA team right here in town. It’s so great to go catch a game a couple of times a week. Summer is so awesome!

  5. August 24, 2010 8:44 pm

    Wow! What. A. Summer. So many great memories! I love your photos. You have such a beautiful family!! 🙂

  6. Sharon E. permalink
    August 24, 2010 10:29 pm

    Vonda, actually you are being nice… I believe we waited 3 1/2 hours to eat rather than 2 wasn’t it? Ha ha!!!! Loved the pics – especially the Bollinger ones!!

  7. August 25, 2010 9:17 am

    I LOVE summer and hate that it has to end. *Sigh* At least it will be back next year! Great pictures! You guys look like you really know how to live it up!

  8. August 25, 2010 12:58 pm

    I love your journal-
    style writing, Vonda!
    Your family certainly
    grabbed summer tight
    and gave it a great big
    bear hug : ) Ours was
    lovely but, as usual,
    I’m here on the cusp
    of the school year
    starting, saying,
    “What happened?”
    because it seemed to
    go so quickly! Great
    pictures. I love Wildfire,
    too and also prefer a
    campfire in my own
    back yard!
    xx Suzanne

  9. August 25, 2010 11:57 pm

    I was all geared up for fall then my party was crashed with this lovely post. Summer is great!

Leave a Reply

