Skip to content

Recipe Box Project: No Bake Cookies

August 16, 2010

This weeks Recipe Box Project is the number one favorite of my hero.  He could eat these every day.  My sister-in-law used to make these for him for his birthday and Christmas or just because.  She and my brother moved to Arkansas.  Now–I have to pick up the reins and make these sometimes–just because.

  

This is the only recipe I have in my box from my mother.  I think I am going to regret that someday.  I have a lot of her recipes in my head and I make so many of them, but they are not her specific recipes.  Maybe when I am finished with the Recipe Box Project, I will get some of her recipes put into print.  I have tried so many different No Bake Cookie recipes.  I am sure most everyone has their own version which is their favorite.  This one to me is no fail-no fuss. 

The ingredients are so simple.  I always have these ingredients on hand in my pantry  when I feel the need to fatten up for the winter, or fall, or spring…

There is a very dangerous ingredient.  Corn Syrup.  Yes, I know.  I am not sure if it is the same killer corn syrup you hear about, but I think it is the secret ingredient. 

Mix together the sugar and the cocoa in a large sauce pan.  I do mix them.  I am so afraid one of those cocoa lumps will not cook out and I am going to bite down into a lump of cocoa.  That is somewhat scary to me.  So, I mix the sugar and the cocoa until there are few lumps.

Add a half cup of milk to the chocolate sugar.  I think they should make chocolate sugar.  I would buy it.  See–no lumps.

Add the butter and the evil corn syrup.  Cook over med heat until mixture starts to boil.

When the butter and the chocolate sugar are all melted together, it makes this beautiful velvety syrup like substance.  I could eat it just like this, but it is hot.

Now–it is really hot.  You know, a watched pot does boil.  I stood right here and stirred and watched this mixture boil right before my very eyes.  I guess I should stop telling my daughter that a watched pot never boils.  Boil this mixture for 3 minutes.  Set a timer.  This is very important. 

When the timer goes off, add the quick cooking oats and the peanut butter.  Cook and stir for 1 minute.  I didn’t set a timer.  I have made these long enough that I can tell by looking at the gloss of the mixture when it is ready.  I can’t explain it–sorry–set a timer for 1 minute.

Remove from heat or just turn it off–which is what I do.  I have a gas stove.  Maybe you have to remove it from the heat with an electric cook top? 

Now you stir.  Stir until it just starts to thicken a bit.  Not long at all.  I have been known to over stir.  You end up with a very dry cookie.  I have made plenty of those.  Learn from my mistakes–then you don’t have to make your own.

I have this wonderful cookie scoop from Pampered Chef.  I love it.  I love Pampered Chef.  If you don’t have a scoop–use a Tablespoon.  It works just as well.  Drop onto a cookie sheet lined with wax paper.  I have never not lined the cookie sheet.  I can’t tell you what would happen if you don’t line the cookie sheet.  You proceed at your own risk.

Then you just let them cool.  This is the hardest part.  I usually clean up the kitchen and wash everything from making the cookies.  It helps to pass the time.  Then I go fold a load of laundry and check the weather.  Then–I can’t stand it anymore and I peel one-off the wax paper and eat it still a little warm. 

My only complaint about this recipe–it only makes 2 dozen.  Make some for your family.  I think I am going to take a morning or afternoon and make a huge batch and freeze them.  I think I will wait until it is time to hibernate before I do this.

No Bake Cookies

2 cups sugar

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

1 Tbsp light corn syrup

1/4 cup peanut butter

2 cups quick cook oatmeal

Combine sugar and cocoa.  Stir in milk, add butter and corn syrup.  Bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.  Boil vigorously for 3 minutes.  Stir in peanut butter and oatmeal.  Return mixture to boil then remove from heat.  Beat until slighty thickened.  Immediately drop from Tablespoon onto wax paper lined cookie sheets.  If mixture spreads too thin or fast–beat mixture more.

TastyTuesday200pix Welcome to my new home   Tasty Tuesday

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 11:46 am

    I love your idea for the 50 recipe project. Food IS meant to be shared! And sharing these no-bakes would make lots of friends happy! Have a lovely day!

  2. August 17, 2010 11:59 am

    These are one of our absolute favorite cookies of all time! 😀 YUM!!

    Have a great day!
    Sherry

  3. August 17, 2010 12:09 pm

    I haven’t made – or eaten – these in forever! Thank you for the reminder. I need to make a batch, pronto!

  4. Sharon Leslie permalink
    August 17, 2010 1:40 pm

    My favorite cookies as well. Thanks for sharing!!!

  5. Jamie permalink
    August 17, 2010 2:26 pm

    I love food and I love it even more when someone else cooks!! I have eaten a lot of no bakes that were very dry and it made me not like no bakes! Maybe if I tried yours… hint hint hint

    • August 17, 2010 7:25 pm

      Well…I do think you need a little fattening up Jamie:) And, I may have to try to re-establish your taste for no-bake cookies!

Leave a Reply

