Skip to content

Recipe Box Project: Quick and Easy Brownies

August 9, 2010

I thought my recipe box was only filled with savory dinner meals filled with mushrooms and onions, but this week I found the most rich and gooey brownie recipe.  This is a cherished recipe from my good friend Anne.  She lives in Las Vegas as is a show girl.  No really she is married to a military man and has four of the most beautiful girls, but they do live in Las Vegas.  I miss Anne.  I think of her every time I put the marshmallows in the icing. 

Quick and Easy Brownies

I seriously believe that anything with these ingredients would always be perfect.  It shouldn’t matter how you mix them all together.  Butter makes everything taste better.  And why does unsweetened chocolate taste so bad when it looks so good?

The first thing you should always do is turn on the oven first.  There is a reason why this is the first thing most recipes say to do.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  It is kind of like waiting for water to boil.  If you preheat first, you won’t be waiting around for the oven to heat up–which is what happens to me. 

Melt chocolate and butter in microwave safe bowl until mixture is smooth when stirred.  About 1 1/2 to 2 minutes.  Doesn’t this look amazing.  Don’t let its looks fool you.

 My little Catie helped me make these brownies.  She just did not believe me that this beautiful mixture of chocolate and butter does not taste good.  Being the good mother that I am, I let her taste it.  Her face told the story and she couldn’t get enough milk to drink afterwards.  So be warned.  Don’t taste it.

Ok, now comes to good stuff.  A cure for all that is bitter.  Add 2 cups of sugar.  All is well now…

Oh sorry, inedible again.  I absolutely refuse to allow my children to eat anything that has raw eggs in it.  I know.  I am paranoid that way.  It is not worth staying up all night with sick kids.  So, my kids grow up deprived because they never know the taste of raw cookie dough or brownie mix or egg nog or caesar dressing–ok, maybe I am neurotic.  Add vanilla and mix well.

Mix in the flour until smooth.

Now it is time to pour this into a buttered 9×13 pan to make it edible again.  Bake for 30-35 minutes or until a wooden pick comes out almost clean when inserted. 

I

Cool on a wire rack.  Now, these would be wonderful just like this–straight out of the oven–warm and gooey.  But I love frosting or icing or whatever you call it.  I can’t remember right now what I call it.  I think I call it icing.  Anyway, these wonderful brownies become something magical after the frosting is added.  Ok–so maybe I call it frosting. 

There is that unsweetened chocolate again.  So deceiving. 

Melt the chocolate in a small sauce pan.  Add marshmallows. Stir until melted. 

The mixture becomes very thick at this point and pulls away from the sides of the pan.  This is normal.  This is what the recipe says is supposed to happen. Put mixture in a small mixing bowl; beat in butter.  Add milk gradually, beating until smooth. Add powdered sugar and vanilla.

Which means thick and creamy to me. 

And–No raw eggs!  My kids will not grow up warped and deprived.

I put the frosting (yep, I call it frosting) on while the brownies are still just a bit warm. 

So, instead of pulling out a box of brownie mix–try these instead.  You will have a hard time making them from a box again.  Thanks Anne! 

Quick and Easy Brownies

4 bars (4oz) unsweetened chocolate

1 3/4 sticks butter/margarine

2 c. sugar

3 eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 c all purpose flour

nuts-optional

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter 9×13 pan.  In large microwave safe bowl, place chocolate and butter.  Microwave at high 1 1/2-2 minutes or until chocolate is melted and mixture smooth when stirred.

Add sugar, stir with spoon until well blended.  Add eggs and vanilla, mix well.  Add flour and nuts, if desired; stir until well blended.  Spread into prepared pan.

Bake 30-35 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out almost clean.  Cool in pan on wire rack.  Frost with Quick and Easy Chocolate Frosting.

Quick and Easy Chocolate Frosting:

3 bars (3 oz) unsweetened chocolate

1 c. mini marshmallows

1/2 c. (1 stick) butter/margarine softened

1/3 cup milk

2 1/2 c. powdered sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

In small sauce pan over low heat, melt chocolate, stir constantly.  add marshmallows; stir frequently until melted.  Mixture will be very thick and pull away from sides.  Spoon mixture into small mixing bowl; beat in butter.  Add milk gradually, beating until smooth.  Add powdered sugar and vanilla.  Beat to desired consistency.

TastyTuesday200pix Welcome to my new home   Tasty Tuesday

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    August 10, 2010 8:27 am

    Yippee, I found your blog! I am going to try the brownies! I never make brownies, cakes, or cookies from scratch! But I am going to try.
    I never let my kids eat anything with raw eggs either! You aren’t the only mean mom!

    I miss you!
    Jamie

  2. Anne Snyder permalink
    August 10, 2010 9:37 am

    I can’t believe you still have my hand-written copy of the recipe! Haven’t made these in a while, but after a trip to Hershey and seeing your YUMMY pictures, I think it’s time to get out the Hershey cookbook (better named dessert book). Thanks. 🙂

  3. August 10, 2010 9:58 am

    Who would guess that frosting recipe would turn from thick to creamy? Glad you showed the pics because I would be sure I had blown it. My daughter in law loves anything with marshamallows so this frosting would be her number 1 choice. I am printing all of Tasty Tuesdays this time I think!

  4. August 10, 2010 2:09 pm

    Wow, this brownie sure look so yummie, like the frosting on it…wish would have a bite of it 🙂

  5. August 10, 2010 9:46 pm

    oooh delicious and my favorite part liking the mixer sticks delicious

  6. August 10, 2010 10:40 pm

    You’re killing me with the brownies. It has been too hot to turn on the oven, but as soon as it cools down a bit, I am baking brownies.

    Thanks.

  7. August 11, 2010 1:25 pm

    Licking the beaters… the very best part! Yummy!

    e-Mom @ Susannah’s {Kitchen}
    http://www.susannahskitchen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/ChrysalisCafe

Leave a Reply

