Skip to content

Recipe Box Project: Hamburger Steak

July 28, 2010

The Recipe Box Project continues this week with yet another dish that contains mushrooms and onions.  I think I must like mushrooms and onions.  I am sure you could leave them out if you really do not like them–

Hamburger Steak

This is a dish I ripped out of a magazine and stuck it in my recipe box thinking it would be a quick easy meal.  This is the first time I have tried this recipe.  I have several classics in my box, but also some I have never tried. 

The ingredients are very simple, but still a home cooked meal.  See, mushrooms and onions.  I also did not know beef consomme and beef broth were different.  Beef broth is simmered beef bones.  Beef consomme is roasted beef bones that have been simmered and clarified.  All that to say that beef consomme is more flavorful.  I would have used both cans of consomme if I had known that! 

I used a little over a pound of lean ground sirloin.  That is what I had.  I wish I would have had ground chuck.  I think it would have been more juicy.  It was fine but you know–hind sight.  Mix together the hamburger, Worcestershire, fresh parsley, garlic, salt and pepper. I did not have any parsley.  I had plenty in my garden in Indiana, but I forgot to bring it to Michigan with me.   Make four patties.  I like to roll them into balls and put them between wax paper and smack them with a heavy pan.  I really don’t like raw meat and I think raw hamburger is right up there with raw chicken, but at least the raw part doesn’t last long. 

Brown the patties on both sides and then remove them to a plate to keep the patties warm.  They do look a little better now. 

In the same pan, saute the mushrooms and onions.  I had to add a little olive oil to the pan because I used the extra lean sirloin. 

While the mushrooms and onions are browning, mix the beef consomme, beef broth and brown gravy mix.  I also made a mistake here.  I added a whole can of beef broth when the recipe only called for one cup.  I didn’t want to waste the broth and I knew if I didn’t use it now, I would forget about it.  It is very good to put on the dog’s food if I ever do forget to use it to cook.  But I really thought I would just forget about it altogether.  So…

Just pour it all in and hope for the best!  More is always better, right?

Not always–I added the patties back into the pan and I cooked it until it came to a boil and it was still watery.  So, I ruined dinner because I thought more was better.

Corn Starch to the rescue.  This stuff is like magic.  Just add to a cup of water, stir and voila!  Instant miracle.  I can’t tell you how much.  A tablespoon or two to a half cup of water.  Add to the boiling mixture, stir and instant fix.

Now–more is better.  I have more gravy and I love the consistency. 

I served it over egg noodles.  I think it would be great over mashed potatoes too. 

I really like this meal.  I think because it has a lot of flavor and the kids loved it and my hero gave his stamp of approval because it had meat and the equivalent of potatoes(noodles).  This recipe is a keeper.

Hamburger Steak

1 1/2 pounds ground chuck

3 Tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

1 Tablespoon fresh minced parsley

2 cloves garlic minced

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1 pkg sliced fresh mushrooms

1 large onion sliced

1- 10.5 oz can beef consomme

1-cup beef broth

1 pkg brown gravy mix

Hot cooked egg noodles (opt)

Garnish with fresh parsley

TastyTuesday200pix Welcome to my new home   Tasty Tuesday

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 10:54 am

    Yum! I am starving and this looks comfort food to the max!

Leave a Reply

