Skip to content

Recipe Box Project: Corn Casserole

July 20, 2010

This weeks Recipe Box Project recipe is an easy peasy one.  It has been a busy week of baseball. 

I know right when I got this recipe.  My daughter in law, Andrea, brought it the first time she came to our house before she married my son and ran off to Pennsylvania.  We were having a Memorial Day Party and she brought this wonderful casserole, which was one of her mom’s specialties.  She also brought a copy of the recipe.  I put it in my box and now it is one of my most treasured recipes. 

I love this recipe because it was how I was sure my son was not going to go hungry if he married this girl.  No, really, it is a bribe recipe.  The only way the kids and I can make Tacos for dinner is if I make this casserole.  My Hero thinks tacos are a snack and if it does not involve potatoes or pasta, it is not dinner.  Rice does not count.  He does not like cilantro.  I know, why did I marry him?  I think someday he may discover the life enhancing benefits of cilantro, but for now, I bribe him with this casserole.  I tell him it only goes with tacos.

This is how easy this is–just dump everything in.  I think I should change the name to corn dump casserole.

Mix it all up–throw it in the oven and go make your tacos.  I make American tacos.  That is the way I like them.  Hamburger and taco seasoning (Taco Bell).  Yep–but I do make my own pico de gallo and I can open a can of refried beans and add more seasoning and some cheese.  We like it that way.  Well, some of us like it that way.  Don’t ask Andrea either.  She is not on my side.

There you have it.  Golden brown Bribe Corn Casserole.  Easy, Peasy.

Served with my soft tortilla taco with beans, meat, cheese, salsa, taco sauce and pico de gallo all over.  I love cilantro.  My husband made me move to the other side of the table because he couldn’t stand the smell of the cilantro.  I know–I know.  The kids like hard shell and they love this casserole too.  Thanks Andrea!

TastyTuesday200pix Welcome to my new home   Tasty Tuesday

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 8:04 pm

    This looks great! My dad would love this casserole-hmmmm-I think I will make it for him for Sunday dinner;) Thanks for stopping by my blog. Have a great day!

  2. July 21, 2010 9:35 am

    I used to make this frequently. Thanks for the reminder! I would love for you to join me for this week’s edition of What’s On the Menu Wednesday. Mister Linky is up and ready for you.

  3. July 22, 2010 11:56 am

    I love corn casserole, too!
    But I’ve never thought of
    having it with TACOS!
    Brilliant!
    Mr. Privet will eat cilantro
    but doesn’t LOVE IT
    like I do.
    And I do!
    So, thank you {and Andrea}
    for this great inspiration : )
    xx Suzanne

  4. July 28, 2010 6:27 pm

    mmm! This looks good! I feel like I’ve had it before, but I can’t remember where. I’m going to have to try to make it myself. Any way to make vegetables appetizing for Hubby is great!

Leave a Reply

