Skip to content

Recipe Box Project:Chicken Parmesan

July 13, 2010

 

The goal:  Organize this recipe box one recipe at a time.  This is a collection of recipes spanning over 25 years.  They are recipes from friends and co-workers, family, newspapers, magazines, scraps of paper I jotted down my own ideas.  I really know where everything is in here.  My mom’s No-bake cookie recipe is right behind a copycat recipe for Cracker Barrel’s Hashbrown Casserole.  I am hoping to each week-pull out a recipe and record it here, hoping to organize this box for future generations.  You may say thank you now-my children.  –Your Welcome.

CHICKEN PARMESAN

 

 This is a family favorite.  It is a fairly new recipe to me.  New as in the last 2 years.  I found it in a magazine.  I don’t know which magazine to give it credit.  I probably ripped it out of a magazine in the dentist’s office. 

Here is most of the ingredients.  I decided to do this post after the chicken was already breaded and in the pan-So the chicken and breading ingredients are missing.  I also like green pepper in this dish, but I didn’t have one.  Not one green pepper in the refridge; therefore, that is not in the picture either.  I also forgot to add the pasta in the picture.  But it is a nice picture.  I also see that I spelled mozzarella wrong.  I could correct it, but that means I would have to go back and re-edit this picture and adjust the levels again and redo the whole thing because I didn’t save the layers.  Ok, nevermind…mozzarella is spelled wrong.

Breading for chicken

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup cornflake crumbs
  • 1 egg beaten with 1 Tsp water
  • Lawry’s Season Salt and Pepper to taste

  

Mix flour and cornflake crumbs ( I put mine in a ziploc and beat it with a rolling pin) with Season salt and pepper.  Dip a 5 oz chicken breast in the egg mixture and coat with the flour/cornflake mixture.  Fry on both sides until brown and crispy.  I fry it in Olive oil with about 3 TBsp butter.  The butter makes it brown well.  I think the key with the chicken is to either pound it thin or I like the frozen 5 oz chicken breasts from Sams Club. 

OH…and don’t forget to put the water on to boil for the pasta.  There is nothing worse than waiting for water to boil, which is usually what I am doing because I forget to put the pot on to boil.

In the same pan I cooked the chicken (the chicken is now on a plate keeping warm), I add more olive oil and saute the Onion, Mushrooms, Garlic and Green Pepper (if I had one). 

I then add the veges to a 9×13 casserole dish.  It looks prettier with green pepper.   Too bad I don’t have one.

This is my own twist on the recipe.  I add my pasta right on top of the veges.  The recipe doesn’t call for pasta.  How can you have Chicken Parmesan without pasta?  I guess you can mix the veges right in, but this way makes my kids think they can bypass the veges at serving time. 

Then place the chicken on top of the pasta.  I say pasta because I don’t like to spell spaghetti.  I have to think about it too much.  Shave fresh parmesan on the chicken.  You can use the kind in the can.  I love the stuff, but for this dish I like the real block parmesan.

Okay, this is where I am sure I have the advantage-unless you have access to Subway marinara sauce.  You know-the sauce that the meatballs are in for a meatball sub.  Yep, I have my husband bring me home a big ‘ole bag of it.  It is the best marinara sauce.  Not too thick-not too thin. i am sure you can use your famous homemade sauce or a jar of pasta sauce and it will be fine.  Plus, my herb garden is doing amazing!  I put more shaved parmesan, fresh basil and parsley in the sauce and heat it until the cheese melts. 

I think I could almost eat it just like this, but it does get better.  I add the sauce right over the chicken.  The recipe says 4 cups of sauce.  I tried that-I now use at least 6 cups of sauce.  I don’t know how many cups are in a jar of pasta sauce.  Then add mozzarella cheese, more parmesan and more basil and parsley.  More is better, right?  Then bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until the cheese is melted and the sauce bubbly. 

I served it with garlic bread and a salad of tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, basil, and Italian dressing.  And more shaved parmesan.  That is why it is called Chicken Parmesan. 

 I must have red pepper flakes on anything Italian.  Must-must-must.  My family likes it plain. 

Chicken Parmesan

  • 5-5oz Chicken Breasts pounded thin
  • 3TBsp butter
  • 3TBsp Olive oil
  • 1 green pepper sliced
  • sliced mushrooms
  • small onion sliced
  • 1tsp minced garlic or 2 cloves
  • fresh basil
  • fresh parsley
  • 6 cups pasta sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup shaved parmesan
  • 1/2 pound pasta cooked

Breading for chicken

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup cornflake crumbs
  • 1 egg beaten with 1 Tsp water
  • Lawry’s Season Salt and Pepper to taste

Mix flour, cornflake crumbs and season salt and pepper.  Dip chicken into egg mixture then into the flour/cornflake mixture.  Fry in butter and olive oil until browned.  Remove chicken from pan and keep warm.  Add mushrooms, onions, green pepper, minced garlic to pan with more olive oil.  Saute until onions are translucent.  Place veges in a 9×13 casserole dish.  Add cooked pasta over veges.  Warm pasta sauce, 1/2 of the shaved parmesan, some basil and parsley.  Place chicken on pasta.  Add sauce over chicken and finish with mozzarella and parmesan cheeses, basil and parsley.  Bake at 350 degrees until cheese is melted and sauce is bubbly.  About 30 minutes.  Pray and Eat! 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 12:33 pm

    I loooove Chicken Parm! I haven’t seen it with mushrooms. I must try it – and soon! Thanks for sharing!

  2. July 13, 2010 12:57 pm

    okay, so now my mouth is watering and I have a taste for chicken parmesan…oh how I love Italian food!! Thanks for sharing!

  3. July 13, 2010 2:24 pm

    If I didn’t know better, I would have said the pictures were from The Pioneer Woman! Great job on the recipe and photos! I’m really impressed. My pix NEVER look this good!

  4. julie permalink
    July 13, 2010 5:25 pm

    That looks wonderful. Thank you for sharing. I will have to add that to our menu this week.

  5. July 13, 2010 8:01 pm

    I love chicken parmesean but have never made it. This looks like a great recipe. I am trying to get all of my recipes organized…such a job!!

  6. July 14, 2010 8:43 pm

    Gosh this sounds GOOD!!!
    I wish I were having it TONIGHT : )
    Alas, I am not.
    I have entered the chauffeuring zone…
    For the next several weeks!
    I KNOW that YOU know what
    that means….
    A lot of catch as can type of
    eating here, for a while.
    BUT, when I DO start cooking,
    in earnest, again, I will most
    definitely try this!
    Printing it off, now…..
    Thanks for sharing!
    xx Suzanne

  7. October 4, 2010 5:55 pm

    This looks lovely! I think as many great chicken recipes as I’ve seen recently I’m going to have to keep chicken on hand!

  8. October 4, 2010 8:29 pm

    Yum-ee. I’ll definitely have to try this!

  9. October 4, 2010 11:53 pm

    Looks yummy. I love how you labeled the ingredients. Neat idea!

  10. October 5, 2010 3:06 am

    Delicious! It looks incredible! Think I’ll have to add this one to the rotation!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipe Box Project: Corn Casserole « Following Splendor
  2. Recipe Box Project: Hamburger Steak « Following Splendor
  3. Recipe Box Project: Quick and Easy Brownies « Following Splendor
  4. Recipe Box Project: No Bake Cookies « Following Splendor
  5. Recipe Box Project: Raspberry Jam/Syrup « Following Splendor
  6. Recipe Box Project: Potato Soup « Following Splendor

Leave a Reply

