Skip to content

Celebrating

July 10, 2010

 

It has been quite a week.  The Fourth of July is becoming a very festive holiday.  It seems so many are celebrating fireworks.  I know I am guilty of the same.  I love everything about the Fourth of July.  I love the activities surrounding a holiday in the summer.  But it does seem that when I see the first firework or see all the flags being displayed, I can’t help but think of the birth of our county.  The fight-the battle that ensued in order for us to be free today.  We have a responsibility to uphold all those things for which our fore-fathers fought and died. 

Here is a little of how we celebrated.  And it was a lot. 

FRIDAY

Our celebration actually started on Friday.  We had house-guests for a wedding that evening.  I love meeting new people.  These people were so much fun to have.  They brought a toy with them-so they can come back anytime-as long as they bring their toy. 

That evening was a beautiful wedding.  Complete with the first fireworks afterwards.  And…plenty of good food.  Actually, now that I am thinking about it-I think this was a food celebration-I don’t think I should think about it anymore.

SATURDAY

This was not technically a celebration day.  We had our ministries at Church-then decided it was a spectacular day and headed to Michigan.  Because when the sky was as blue as it was on Saturday-you must head to the lake-and celebrate. 

And then after a full day on the boat-you must have fire.  A big fire.  Even though it was 90 degrees outside.  Why? 

Because I found the biggest marshmellows I have ever seen.  They were huge.  Almost too big-but the S’mores were amazing.  Remember-it is all about the food.

SUNDAY

Sunday is always a celebration.  We celebrate every Sunday.  We celebrate our Lord and Savior- Jesus Christ-who died-so that we might have life.  It really is a celebration of the life He chose to give us.  He is the beginning and end of celebration and nothing else compares.  Thanks be to God for his unspeakable gift!

After the evening service, we did manage to run off with some friends to the local fireworks display.  We sat on the edge of a football field.  The fireworks were right there in front of us.  The security came to us once and said they would not start the fireworks until our kids were sitting.  Now that was close.  The fear and excitement mixed was almost too much.  There were several explosions on the field.  I was kicking myself over and over that I had forgotten my camera.

After the fireworks, we headed home.  We decided fighting the traffic and people was well worth the fireworks.  I always think of the battle that went on during the writing of the Battle Hymn of the Republic.  …the bombs bursting in air… I get chills every time.  I thought even more of being in battle on the way home.  I have never seen so many fireworks going off at the same time.  You see-in Michigan-where I have lived for the past 21 years-it is illegal to have any fireworks except for sparklers-and I have heard rumors that those are illegal too.  Everyone in Indiana has fireworks!  We even had our own.  When we arrived home, we began our little show.  Very tame-very tame-in comparison to Indiana people. 

We made sure we were all tucked into bed before it was too late because the next day was race day!

MONDAY

This was our biggest day of celebrating.  It was the 3rd Annual Fairhaven 5k and Taste of Fairhaven.  There was electricity in the air as everyone gathered for the big race. 

Here is my  running  walking partner.  Doesn’t she look excited?  She has had her picture plastered up all over the papers and magazines here lately. (she is our Town Council President) -I didn’t figure she would mind one more.   Adam was somewhere in the back.  The fast men were in front and the slow kids in the middle and then slower walkers in the very back.  I think they should give us a head start by putting us in the front-but-that is just my opinion. 

This picture says it all.  He gave it his all.  It was hot.  He had never run this far.  We had him start training a mere 3 weeks ago.  His time 25:33.  I call that pretty impressive.  We were very proud of him.  The race was at 8:30am.  He didn’t eat anything until later that evening-unless you count a popsicle.  Apparently, he forgot it was all about the food.

And speaking of food-we were speaking of food, weren’t we?  The food here was amazing.  Even better than last year.  I told you it was all about the food.

From Mrs. Trout’s famous Peanut Butter Pie to Star-Studded Brownies and my personal favorite-real Mexican food.  Tostatas-Gorditas-Flautas-Rice-Beans-Pico de Galo-Corn on the Cob with mayonnaise and cheese!  And there was so much more.  Amazing. 

And then the awards.  Here is my Hero giving out the ribbons.  Didn’t hurt that he put in a little free advertising on his T-shirt.  He is always working.  Can’t stop him.

Here are a few of my favorite shots of today. 

The cutest baby in red-white-and blue just shouts Americana to me. 

I do believe she loves popsicles. 

Looks like everyone loved the popsicles.

Look at that face.  Even after running in the heat-she was still pouring it on for the crowd.  I always claim I am related to her, but technically she is my daughter-in-law’s sister.  Close enough for us, although everyone else claims her too.

The spectators.  You must have spectators to cheer you over the finish line and to pass out popsicles.

You would think after all of the days activities-the celebrating would be complete.  No-we went home for a little recuperating then off for one last party.  One of those covered dish parties with fireworks and coolers full of pop and water.  Two long tables full of incredible food.  Yes, more food.

Lots of food. 

Look at this salad.  It is incredible.  I will post the recipe next week.  It is somewhere in my Recipe Box. I didn’t make this one.  I wish I would have for the left-overs.

This is what the men do.  I think they are either solving the world’s problems or they are cooking.     I am pretty sure they are cooking.

And the men not cooking were seeing how many of the neighbor’s houses they could blow up. 

This is what the kids do.  Well…before they watch the men blow up the neighborhood.

And this is why I liked this party–well–besides the food–It is the stories you hear.  You see the life come out in people when they are relaxed and gathered together with people they know. 

This was a pretty wild party. 

The night ended with lots of Oooo’s and Ahhh’s and cheering for not blowing up the neighbor’s house. 

And thus ended the celebrations.

And the diet begins.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2010 5:41 pm

    What a lovely weekend you had, Vonda!
    Full of all the things that make life grand : )
    My son had braces put on the Thursday
    before the 4th and my daughter had her
    wisdoms all removed on that Friday, so
    our 4th involved A LOT of ice cream! And,
    we did enjoy some fireworks in the driveway
    as well as the ones bursting all around the
    area…..and some sparklers, even for me!
    Hope you have had a great weekend.
    xx Suzanne

  2. July 11, 2010 5:51 pm

    That sounds so AWESOME!!! Every part of it must have been amazing. Congrats on a great Independence Day (Weekend) celebration. LOVED the pictures, especially the one of Linz. Thanks for sharing!

  3. July 11, 2010 8:07 pm

    What a great sense of humor you have! I have been smiling the whole time I’ve been reading this post! You sure did have a grand time! That is the lengthiest Fourth celebration, oh I’m sorry, I mean FOOD
    celebration I have ever heard of! You guys really know how to rock holiday weekends, HUH? I think I’m going to come par-tay with you next year! Or…what are your plans for Labor Day weekend?? LOL!!!

    Thanks for sharing your fun!!
    Have a blessed week!!
    Becky

  4. Cathy McNabb permalink
    July 11, 2010 10:26 pm

    Monday, was awesome, after the 5K my family confiscated Kim H. pool. It was a great day for a swim

  5. July 11, 2010 11:45 pm

    Like I said before, isn’t ALWAYS about the food!

  6. July 11, 2010 11:49 pm

    I always leave the “it” out that statement. The fingers are definitely slower than the brain.

Trackbacks

  1. Pennsylvania, Camp, Virginia, Fourth of July « Following Splendor

Leave a Reply

