Skip to content

A Shelter in a Time of Storm

June 29, 2010

 

Sunny and warm hot . Bright blue skies.  It was a beautiful day.  One of those days that you doubt the conversations around you about the coming storm. 

I am known in my family as paranoid about storms.  They laugh at me and try to talk me down.  It never works and I am always right.  I have saved my family from certain disaster many a times.  You would think they would start to listen to me. 

This day was no different.  We happened to be at a baseball game.  The first game was finished.  We went to Pizza Hut between games. 

I was checking my phone obsessively.  I saw the storm coming.  A radar never lies.  My Hero says we need to go back to the field to be sure what was going to transpire.  I knew.  I am sure he just needed conformation of the authority type. 

As we neared the field I could see it coming from across the field.  It was suggested that we take cover in the local K-Mart across the street.  The games would just be postponed for now…really? 

In a K-Mart.  Just as we pulled into the parking lot-it hit-full force.  We had to push our way in through the doors.  Others who were there before us-cheered us as we made it into the ‘safe haven’. 

It is that time of year for most of the country.  But this is Michigan.  It only happens once every few years.  I heard yesterday that we have had severe storms 9 out of 11 days. 

The new ‘tornado alley’?  No-not my beloved north country.  There are few severe storms and if we reach 90-we are excited. 

Today-it is barely 70 degrees.  Sunny.  Back to normal.  Whew…I thought maybe I was going to have to move to Oklahoma to get away from the storms!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 7:27 pm

    I’m in Minnesota, so I know JUST what you mean!
    The week before last, it was my turn to be the carpool
    mom for baseball. The away field was a 30-minute drive.
    The skies looked ominous. Just as we pulled up to the
    field, I got a call that the fire department in this little
    town had cancelled all public activities. I zoomed home
    just in time…..There were 24 tornadoes that touched down
    in the area that night. Scary stuff! We do get tornadoes,
    here, unfortunately, but not on the scale of OK or KS.
    Your pictures are great! I especially love the one of the
    flag, as Old Glory is one of my favorite things. I hope that
    your Fourth will be tornado-free and happy, Vonda!
    xx Suzanne

Leave a Reply

