Skip to content

Dinner and a Watermark

June 21, 2010

I won this Watermarking Action Kit from CoffeeShop via Photography Finds.  I love actions.  With just a click of my mouse my pictures are transformed.  I took a basic Photoshop tutorial and loved it.  I learned how to make my own watermark, but this kit makes it so much easier and so much faster.  It rounds the edges and sharpens the image.  I would have bought this Action had I not won it.  It is that impressive.  Thank you Rita and CoffeeShop!

…and because I have already stated that I like things easier and faster-I will show you my Watermarking Action with a Dinner Post. 

                                                 *Please Note the wonderful watermark*

This is seriously where I keep all of my favorite recipes.  Can you imagine?  I know where most of the recipes I want are located.  Back, front, middle…in front of my mom’s no-bake cookie recipe-behind my strawberry cheesecake recipe.  Today-I decided it might be a good time to put these in order.  I thought to myself…what if I blog my recipes.  That would keep them all in one place.  I cannot bear to throw away all my scraps.  I have my children’s great grandmother’s orange cake recipe hand written in there! 

So-here we go.  Recipe #1

  Grilled Pork Loin with Rosemary Garlic Potatoes

This is my own creation I jotted down on a piece of scrap paper one night.  I jotted it down because I loved the flavors of the Olive Oil and the Rosemary Garlic Seasoning.  I used to be an all butter cook.  Fry everything in butter.  In trying to be healthy, I tried the fad of Olive Oil.  It was an amazing discovery.  So much flavor without the heaviness of the butter.  I still must fry some things in butter, but I have been converted. 

Slice the potatoes fairly thin.  I have had this slicer for about 14 years now.  I know this because I bought it one late night when my husband went on a fishing trip with the guys.  I thought I had gotten a great deal.  Only$ 39.95.  That included shipping.  That weekend when he came home, he found the exact same slicer for $1.00 at a garage sale. Now I have two.  I still love my slicer and I scour garage sales looking for them.

And…because I am notorious for starting dinner later than I should and we are rushing out of the house by 5:30 for baseball games, I also quarter the slices.  They fry up in no time.  And, do not peel the potatoes. 

                                          *You are still noting the watermarks, right?*

I add enough Olive Oil to cover the bottom of the pan.  I also make sure the pan is warmed up before adding the Olive Oil.  Then let it heat up before adding the potatoes.  I wait for them to brown some then coat them in the Olive Oil and add the salt and pepper and the Rosemary Garlic Seasoning.  Potatoes need a lot of salt and there is not salt in the Rosemary Garlic Seasoning.

Before I started the Potatoes, I put the Pork Loin on the grill.  I use a gas grill-well-because it is easy, and fast.  I discovered these pre-marinated Pork Loins at our local grocery store and they are incredible.  Always moist and flavorful.  This one is a Mesquite Barbeque.  My Hero and the kids thought it was a little spicy.  I said it was because they smothered it in BBQ sauce.  I thought mine was fine.  I didn’t win the argument.

I let the Pork Loin rest for about 10 minutes tented in foil-while the potatoes crisped up.  Fast and Easy.

                                                              *Watermark Below!* 

And that’s dinner on a Monday.  I am sure you will be anxiously awaiting the next installment of the Recipe Box Project.

TastyTuesday300pix Breakfast in Bed...take two for Tasty Tuesday

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 11:30 pm

    Umm, did you recently learn how to add watermarks to your photos? It’s quite a nice touch in this post.

    😛

  2. June 22, 2010 10:50 am

    I Vonda! I am still learning to use my dslr and haven’t even
    installed Photo Shop, yet! Have to do that while my kids are
    off for the summer. YES, they are my Geek Squad : ) !!
    Love your watermark and you made your dinner look so
    enticing…..even to me, who just consumed an enormous
    Southern breakfast at the B&B where I’m staying! Great
    idea to post all your recipes. xx Suzanne

  3. June 22, 2010 10:51 am

    Of course, I meant to say HI, not I!!!
    Must have been the large breakfast.
    All the blood is now headed toward
    my stomache : ) !

  4. June 22, 2010 4:03 pm

    THAT looks good!!!

  5. June 22, 2010 5:41 pm

    I love your recipe file – and those potatoes looks delish!!

  6. June 27, 2010 7:24 am

    Not for sure if I am just not seeing it on your blog…but if you email me your email address I would be more than happy to give you the recipe for the Chicken Enchiladas we had for Father’s Day!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Celebrating « Following Splendor
  2. Recipe Box Project: Perfect Apple Pie « Following Splendor

Leave a Reply

