Skip to content

Coffee, Crepes, Conversation

June 11, 2010

There is a certain allure to ‘going to coffee’ with friends.  I can drink coffee at home or even invite friends to my home for coffee…but-

I am pretty sure I would not have ALL of these available.  This is really why we go to coffee shops.  Ok, well, this is why I go to coffee shops-with friends.  I wouldn’t want to just enjoy this all by myself.  You must taste what everyone else has decided was good for them that day.

The Blueberry-Lemon Tart was amazing-but, I loved-loved the Strawberry, Raspberry, Blackberry Crepe.  The coffee was pretty good too.  I take mine black.  Says a lot about me, I think.  Straight forward, no frills, nothing fancy.

I know the real reason I get up early- find someone to stay with the kids-and drive across town.  It is the conversation.  Not just any conversation.  It is conversation with Kristen and Martha.  It is the conversation that makes me a better person for having been there and really listening. 

I called her Christina for months.  She never corrected me.  She is the kind of friend that can tell you the honest truth.  She will ask you questions to make sure you are making the right decisions.  I think the most amazing thing about Kristen is her ability to help you think about your choices in the right way.  Her eyes brighten when your discussion turns in the right direction.  She has a way of making every thing you say seem like the most important thing in the world at that moment.  I like Kristen.  She is gone for now.  She is driving to Alaska to see her family one last time.  Kristen and her husband and five children are moving to Korea.  They have given their lives to serve God there.  They are a missionary family. 

And next to Kristen is Martha.  I can say what I want about Martha because she doesn’t know I write here. 

Conversation with Martha is guaranteed to make you smile and laugh.  She remembers every funny-cute thing from her boys.  She has four of them.  I like it that they all have cowboy names.  This was the day her oldest boy was graduating from Kindergarten. She was a bit emotional with him before sending him off to school.  He was concerned about her and asked her why she was sad.  She said, “I’m not sad, this is just a very special day.  This graduation means you are growing up and that makes me very happy.”  Her little graduate says, ‘Oh, since it is such a special day, do you think you can do something special with your hair for the graduation.”  You can see her whole face light up when she talks about those boys.  She makes you remember to cherish every moment.

And this is Michele.  This picture says it all.  She is determined and driven.  She doesn’t drink coffee.  I wish you could see her eyes.  They sparkle when she is planning her next prank or when she uses her ways to break up a tense or too serious of a moment.  I love her sense of mischief.  We recently went to an amusement park and while our guys and the kids were on a water ride, we decided to shoot them with water cannons as they came by.  Michele decides we need to practice and begins spending her quarters to shoot complete strangers.  You should have seen her eyes then.  She does read this and I may be in trouble.  Mostly because she is an English major and will give this back to me with big red marks.   Michele teaches me that most things you worry about never happen. 

I really was only going to eat half of the crepe, but I didn’t feel like leaving the conversation to go get a box. 

I cannot end this post without mentioning Stephanie.  She was the one who planned this particular morning coffee.  She couldn’t make it.  She was on her way to meet us and she backed out of her garage only to back into her husband’s car.  We excused her.  What can I say about Stephanie.  She is a work horse.  Really.  She inspires me to get with it-her favorite saying-but I don’t think she knows it is her favorite saying.  Stephanie has more style in her little finger than I have in my whole life x2.  She is funny and I like the way she follows God with her whole heart.  She admits when she is wrong and wants more than anything to make sure all is right with the world around her and if not-oh well-she will make it right. 

It may seem like I have known these ladies forever.  Actually, it has been only a year.  It is amazing what you can accomplish and build in less than one year. 

Here’s to many more coffees, crepes, and conversations…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 11:34 am

    Vonda, what a lovely tribute to your friends!
    It is wonderful how you really SEE them.
    Yes, having coffee out is always a treat!
    I remember my mom always having coffee
    with friends as I grew up {usually at their homes}
    but people don’t seem to just drop by and linger
    like that, anymore…..Just more evidence of
    our hustle-bustle world, I guess.
    Hope that you are having a great weekend
    and that it includes a few coffee moments to
    sip and and relax! xx Suzanne

  2. June 12, 2010 12:58 pm

    It looks like you had a wonderful time. Some friendships are like that aren’t they? Even right away you feel like you have known the other person forever…

  3. pchristopher permalink
    June 13, 2010 12:48 am

    a beautiful tribute to friendship, for sure. lucky you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

