Skip to content

An Interlude

May 15, 2010

“Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgivings, turn routine jobs into joy, and change ordinary opportunities into blessings.” — William Arthur Ward

It had been one of those weeks.  The days seemed to blur together with baseball, softball, band aids, dirty laundry, cleaning, piano and flute and violin lessons-not to mention meals to be made, my mom visiting in the midst of it all.  I felt really lost.

Sunday came and it interluded for me.  The lesson to kindergartens was about Heaven.  The beauty, the glory and how wonderful it will be.  Little eyes not really comprehending the depth of  what it all means.  Someone stepped in.  It was her turn to teach a verse.  The story was past but it lingered on her heart and she shared how her joy would be so full just to know they will be there with her and with me.  Tears filled her eyes as she told them how much she wanted to someday see them there.  These are not the tidy little Sunday School kids in story books.  These are kids who come in with dirty faces, attitudes of disdain.  They are not all loveable.  Unless…’let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus…”

Tears filled my eyes as I saw the compassion and she reminded me of what was truly important in this life.  It is not what I manage to get done.  What matters is equipping those around me with hope.  Hope shines in the darkness. Hope battles for the future.  Hope remains when everything seems blurred. 

These little ones know how much she loves them now.  They thought she did before…but now they know-without a doubt-she loves them with Jesus’ love.

I don’t think she knows how much this moment touched me and taught me.  Thank you.  My day became more bright on that Sunday.

Psalms 71:14

 

But I will hope continually, and will yet praise thee more and more.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 10:28 pm

    PERFECTLY put! It is a crazy time of year ~ beautiful, yet bleary-eyed~ with end of school year activities competing with summer activities {namely BASEBALL} competing with the yard and so many other things. I can only IMAGINE that living on a farm compounds it all, even more. Thank you for helping me to pause, to live in the moment, to think about how my actions affect those around me…..Sometimes NO ACTION can say it ALL to a child, especially. It says I LOVE YOU and am willing to just be there for you for this MOMENT. Thank you, for THIS interlude!
    xx P&H

  2. May 17, 2010 10:02 am

    Beautiful! Wonderful reminder for Monday morning. Thank you for that! By the way, LOVE the gerbera daisies!

Leave a Reply

