Skip to content

A New Cabinet

May 7, 2010

It’s not new, but it sure looks like it. I love the way it turned out. I love that my Hero knows how to do pretty much anything.

Here is the before picture. I loved this sewing cabinet. But as with anything, it became outdated. The Golden Oak and the brass pulls did not go with Dustin and Andrea’s room. In addition, I really thought this cabinet was just one of those pressed board structures. I was ready to get rid of it and look for a new one. I realized after carrying it down the stairs, there is no way this thing is not solid wood. My Hero knew it all along.

First came the sanding…and sanding…and sanding. Well…I didn’t sand. I had to clean it out. Years of thread, needles, buttons…and more buttons.

Next came picking out the stain. We went with Red Mahogany. Perfect!

It took a long-long time to dry. I think a mix of being in the basement and a really hard wood. Look at the shine after only one coat.

This is while it is still drying on the first coat. The edges were a different wood and took the stain different. They had a dry dark look.

Then new handles and a new home. The dark edges actually added to cabinet. It’s all about character.

Now that the cabinet is finished, I can get back to finishing up some sewing projects.

Now I need something on the wall…another project.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dustin Speckhals permalink
    May 8, 2010 10:14 pm

    Go Dad! We are impressed!

  2. Dustin Speckhals permalink
    May 8, 2010 10:15 pm

    I remember that thing–especially losing the key to open it! So we had this locked up cabinet with all of the sewing stuff in it for a good while; and I vaguely remember trying to get it open one day so you could get something. Now it’s all new looking! I think the finish is perfect!

  3. May 8, 2010 11:34 pm

    Seriously?!! I would never have guessed it’s previous life while dusting the other day. I will dust with a new appreciation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

