Skip to content

For Andrea…

May 3, 2010

I have been dying to do a food blog post. Or actually be a Pioneer Woman ‘wannabe’.  Here is my chance.  You must thank Sharon because I threatened to do a blog post on this recipe.  I emailed it to Sharon and it was not fun.  So Andrea  asked  for the recipe and now this is fun. 

I don’t have a name for this dish.  Just a family favorite adapted from people who have served it to me.  I don’t think they had a name either.  I call it Chicken and Pasta.  Maybe someone can help with a name?

On with the show!

First:  The list of ingredients

Slice green pepper, mushrooms, onions.  Add olive oil to skillet and let it start to get hot.  Add green pepper, mushrooms and onion and minced garlic.  Start the water boiling because I hate waiting for the water to boil.

Start the chicken either grilling (preferred) or saute with olive oil.  It is really hard to get raw chicken to look appetizing.  Sorry.  Now, I have tried fresh chicken breasts and frozen.  I thought the fresh chicken would be the best, but actually; I like Tyson frozen chicken breasts in the 5oz portions from Sam’s Club.  Maybe they are filled with all kinds of stuff that just makes them jucier and taste better-I don’t know.  My family was in agreement.  Frozen chicken breasts from now on.

I even tried a different angle.  I really hoped it would make it look more tastey…nope…still looks like raw chicken.

Stir the green pepper, mushroom, garlic, onion mixture.  I usually turn it way down at this point.  I like my veges to still have some body.  The mushrooms should have released their liquid and you can add the Montreal Steak Seasoning.  I also add some salt.  I really like salt.  I add salt to everything.  Lots of salt.  My blood pressure is fine.

And at this point you should still be waiting for the water to boil.  Waiting, waiting, waiting. 

Go ahead and check the chicken.  I use Lawrys Season SALT on the chicken after I turn it.  I also sprinkle a little of the Montreal Steak Seasoning on the chicken also.  The chicken is starting to look a lot better now.

And now the water is finally starting to boil and you can add the pasta and cook al dente or how you like.

Drain the pasta and add it to the vegetable mixture.  This is when I start taste testing to make sure it has enough SALT. And I add a sprinkle of Parmesan Cheese, which I forgot to add to the picture of ingredients.  I guess no award for Pioneer Woman ‘wanna be’. 

The chicken should also be finishing up.  Put the provolone slices on the chicken and let it melt.  I serve it on a big platter with the chicken on top.  Beautiful!

You can add a salad, green beans, or broccoli.  My favorite is to serve it with fresh bread or rolls and fruit.  Oh, and a Diet Coke.  Yes, and put SALT on the table for people like me.  I also put more parmesan cheese on the table.  My son loves-loves parmesan cheese on everything.

And there you have it.  My favorite go to meal.  I can whip this up in 30 minutes unless the water won’t boil.  Here is the recipe with approximate measurements.

Chicken and Pasta- Serves 4

1/2 Box Bow Tie Pasta

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 green pepper

1 small onion

2 cloves minced garlic

Pkg fresh mushrooms

4- 5oz chicken breasts

4 slices provolone cheese

Parmesan cheese

Montreal Steak Seasoning-about 1 Tbsp plus enough to sprinkle on chicken

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 6:32 am

    Yum, yum, yummy! This is definitely something I am going to have to try on one of my cooking dinner nights; looks delic!

  2. May 4, 2010 9:56 am

    I can attest to the quality of this dish! It has all of the right ingredients…easy to make, short prep time, and very, very good! Thanks again for the recipe!

  3. Andrea Speckhals permalink
    May 4, 2010 10:53 am

    Thanks! Now it will be so handy when I make it…and I will know exactly how everything is supposed to look along the way, particularly the raw chicken! I will let you know how my VIP guests like it!

  4. May 4, 2010 10:33 pm

    I’m stealing this recipe- Wow that looks good!

Leave a Reply

