Skip to content

Play Ball

May 1, 2010

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!  I love baseball.  I love everything about baseball.  I love the uniforms and shirts tucked in and baseball hats and washing dirty baseball pants.  I love the intensity.  I love eating in a hurry at 5:00 to be at the games by 5:45. 

I love that we live in a small town with sponsors that live in a small town too.  I love the numbers on their uniforms.  I love the organization of it all. 

I love it when he hits a stand up triple because he gave it his all.

I love it when she spills Gatorade down her shirt and gets on base with a walk and she still wants to wear pink to her game.

I love the encouragement and instruction he receives from his coach.

I love the seriousness and the intensity in her face.  I know she is worried she won’t know what to do if she gets the ball.  I love that she wants to do well.

I love that people bring their dogs to games.

I love that the fields are surrounded by tall, old trees…

and fields waiting to be planted and water towers in the distance.  I love the smell of dandelions and the dirt from the fields. 

I love all the parents in their lawn chairs and kids playing in the grass.

I love it when she is safe at second and her cute pink cleats.

I love it that this is the only time in his entire life that he is allowed to steal.

I love it when he slides into home-safe and sound.

I love it that they are both wearing blue and the number 6 and that Subway is in no way competiton for Jasper’s Sweet Corn.

I love it that he looks like a real live catcher.  I love the way he puts his hand behind his back just like the pros.

And then the game is over…and I wish it would last longer because I love everything about this game. 

And I love it that this empty field will be ready and waiting again for the next game…I love baseball.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 7:39 am

    Oh gosh, I miss those days. My son always played baseball. Now he is all grown up, but I was just saying yesterday how I miss the games, and everything you just described. That was lovely, a wonderful little slice of real life.

  2. May 3, 2010 10:13 am

    Wow! You captured it perfectly! Baseball!!! Great way to start my day!

  3. alyssa permalink
    May 7, 2010 11:32 am

    I learned something here! They have me playing catcher and I have no clue how to stand, so now I’m going to squat down with my hand behind my back! thanks thats really neat.

Leave a Reply

