Skip to content

The Secret Garden

March 31, 2010

When we bought this home in November, everything was covered in brown leaves.  There were still some flowers lingering. The air has warmed.  Today, as I removed the dried winter, the green was beginning to rise.  The contrast always produces a complete leap in my breath.  To pull away the dead to see new life.  How can that be? 

I am discovering flowers and plants in the most wonderful places.  I have had to cut back grasses over 7 feet tall.  I have pruned 20 roses bushes, cut back crepe myrtle, discovered climbing trumpet vines. 

I have learned that you don’t cut back hydrangea!  They are big and beautiful and I have lingering flowers that tell me I have treasures in my own yard.

The rose bushes are amazing.  They are huge.  I have scratches on my arms from the pruning.  But with that pruning will come bigger, more beautiful flowers.

I know it doesn’t look like much now.  I am the husbandman.  I am the pruner.  I remove the dead so that new life can come.  I cut back not in anger, but with tenderness and care. 

The growth will come now.  They will be stronger this year.  And when the summer is hot and dry.  The rains will come and they will be strong again.  And when the fall winds howl, the roots will have gone deep.  And when the winter is dark and the cold goes deep.  Spring will always come.  And the pruning…will be needed again. 

James 5:7

 

Be patient therefore, brethren, unto the coming of the Lord. Behold, the husbandman waiteth for the precious fruit of the earth, and hath long patience for it, until he receive the early and latter rain.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 11:27 pm

    You have been a busy lady! I would love to have a hydrangea…they don’t do so hot down here with our clay soil and HOT summers, but I have heard they are doable with a lot of TLC. I see beautiful, blooming rewards in your future 🙂 The Bradford Pear trees just bloomed here today and the Redbuds won’t be far behind.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog today. Have a wonderful Easter weekend!

  2. April 1, 2010 3:21 pm

    One of my favorite devotionals by Elisabeth Elliot is about pruning in our lives and the severity and later benefit of it. This post reminded me of that devotional.

    • April 2, 2010 10:07 am

      I want to borrow that devotional! I spent a lot of time thinking about pruning and how God prunes my life while I was doing yard work:) I thought about how hard it must be. Some the branches looked so strong. I hated to cut them back. But they needed it. So in my life, when I think I am so strong, that is the time I need the most pruning!

Leave a Reply

