Skip to content

Light

March 23, 2010

I crave the light.  There was once a time I couldn’t get enough light.  The winters in Michigan just do not allow for much light.  Being so close to Lake Michigan, the clouds cover the short days of light.  I crave the light.

 

Sometimes I even allow artifical light to quench my craving.  It never does.

1 John 2:8

 

Again, a new commandment I write unto you, which thing is true in him and in you: because the darkness is past, and the true light now shineth.

Even in darkness, when the light shines, it brings with it a sense of calm.

Psalms 139:11

 

If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me.


When the clouds come, the light seems to shine even brighter; as if knowing the storm is coming.

Job 29:3

 

When his candle shined upon my head, and when by his light I walked through darkness;

The light is lingering now that the days are passing to spring.  My cravings are being satisfied.   

John 1:5

 

And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.

His mercies are new every morning.  The sun rises every day.  The light will always be there.  And for the days when the clouds come.  I have God’s promises that the light will shine again. 

John 8:12

Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

May my light shine and reflect my Lord.  My eyes may not always perceive the brightness of the light because of the clouds, but may I always reflect the true light and not only my perception of the light.

Matthew 5:14

 

Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid

~I am linking up to Chatting at the Sky and celebrating the gifts in the midst of the ordinary.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 8:23 am

    Oh my goodness, these pictures are beautiful. If I had to pick one as a favorite, I’d have to say the beach night scene. 🙂

  2. March 24, 2010 10:22 pm

    Ummm..Thank you…(head hung in humbleness) I always try to give credit for pictures I publish that are not mine. The picture you like the best is actually a sample picture that came with my computer! I do not take good pictures at night. I don’t take the time to set up my tripod and fiddle. I did take the other pictures:)

  3. March 28, 2010 3:50 pm

    Such a lovely blog! I love your hanging light fixture — is it old? Thanks for stopping by…..

    • March 29, 2010 3:28 pm

      The hanging light fixture is from the Thomas Edison Home in Fort Myers, Florida. There were beautiful ones in each room. I guess being the inventor of the light bulb has its advantages:)

  4. March 29, 2010 9:46 pm

    Oh, Mrs. Murdock, I can totally relate to craving light. During the winter, if the sun shines, I just want to dance in it. There is no way, no how, that I could live in Arctic regions. It can affect my state of being if we don’t have sunshine for awhile. Just like a dog or cat, I love to lie down in a pool of sunshine radiating through the windows!

Leave a Reply

