Skip to content

…As a Tree

March 9, 2010

  

Hibernating

 

“. . . a state of inactivity in an animal brought about by shorter days, colder temperatures and limited food . . . Hibernation allows the animal to skip over the cold, stressful seasons and only expend itself fully in those months of abundant food and moderate climatic conditions.”    ( As found in my daughter’s science book. )

With the exception of the limited food, this is winter.  For all of its beauty, and quiet nights by the fire, and candles, and snowmen, and sledding, and trips to Florida; to escape all that wonder…winter is about to end.   

Thou art my hiding place and my shield: I hope in thy word. (Psalm 119:114)

My mantra…let me start this winter with spring in my heart.  Always growing closer to my Savior.  Never letting inactivity and harshness entangle  its way around my service to Him. 

 I don’t want the Light to dim in my own spirit which causes hibernation.  I don’t want to miss the stressful season.  That is when I learn dependance and surrender. 

Truly the light is sweet, and a pleasant thing it is for the eyes to behold the sun: (Ecc. 11:7)

Now it is past.  The days are getting longer.  The air is warming.  Hope surges forward.  May this spring be winter in my heart.  Never will I want to let go and forget all that God has done in my life this winter. 

For he shall be as a tree planted by the waters, and that spreadeth out her roots by the river, and shall not see when heat cometh, but her leaf shall be green; and shall not be careful in the year of drought, neither shall cease from yielding fruit. (Jeremiah 17:8)

Welcome Spring!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

