Skip to content

Even the Desires of My Heart

February 19, 2010

It was the most beautiful day. I had hoped for the sun to shine, but even if it didn’t, I knew this wedding would be just what the Lord wanted.

My oldest son was getting married. I could go on and on about how God put them together. It was so obvious. I will save that story for them.

All I wanted was to be there for her. Not in a forward intrusive way. Not to step in shoes I could never fit. I just prayed.

God, I want to be there for her. I want to be there when she misses her Mom being there. I can’t take her place, but I have hands that want to be there.

And that day, God gave me the desire of my heart.

How is my makeup?

Will you help me with my dress?

Do you mind? There are a lot of buttons

Would you get the rose petals out of the books in my room for the flower girl?

(Yes, she had saved every rose petal he had given her)

As I carefully made sure each hook was latched, I remembered my prayer. I lingered over each pearl on her dress because I didn’t want the tears to spill over.

And then she was ready. The most beautiful bride. Both inside and out. And she let me in.

And the relationship goes on…she is part of me now. All because she married my son.

Psalms 37:4

Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

~visit them beinstant.wordpress.com

~all photos by Angelina

4 Comments leave one →
  1. anspeckhals permalink
    February 19, 2010 8:52 pm

    Thank you…
    ….”It is God that girdeth me with strength and maketh my way PERFECT.” (Psalm 18:30) This verse has almost become my new favorite verse. Our way may not always be fun or easy, or pretty, but if we cling to God, in the end we will see that it was indeed PERFECT.

  2. February 20, 2010 11:58 am

    I wanted to comment, but I am unsure what to say…except for that that was a beautiful post and that Andrea is fortunate to have such a sweet, godly, caring woman as yourself.

Trackbacks

  1. A Sneak Peek « Following Splendor
  2. A Good Thing « Following Splendor

Leave a Reply

