Skip to content

Reflections of a Heart

February 6, 2010

Psalms 26:2
Examine me, O LORD, and prove me; try my reins and my heart.

That is true reflection.  To have God examine a heart to show what is truly hidden. This last year in our family has been a time of real heart examination.  God has put his finger on so many things in our lives.  He has put His finger on our hearts.  Every verse that I read last year seemed to have the word ‘heart’. The words jumped off the page and burrowed in deep. God’s word showed me things that my eyes could not see clearly in the past.  It is a process of Him making me more like His dear Son.  It hurts to have to be cut so deeply.  But I needed to be able to see.  To deal with my heart and to make sure I have the hearts of my children. 

Last Thursday night was the exclamation point on the year of heart surgery.  I heard a message at Church that summed up all I had learned over the last year.  “Keep thy heart with all diligence, for out of it are the issues of life.”  I still have so much to learn, but hearing that message showed me that God had taught me so much. That message was the final examination.  My heart was reflecting on what God had shown me and taught me about listening to what is important to God; about listening and keeping the hearts of my children. 

You see, I lost a heart, many years ago.  In my own blindness, I did not even realize it was lost. Will I ever get it back?  I don’t know.  I ask God for wisdom daily.  I see now how I lost it.  Pride made me not want to deal with the knowlege that I could lose a heart.  I know how not to lose another.  In God’s Grace, He gave me eyes to see and ears to hear.  I am so grateful. 

Job 38:36
Who hath put wisdom in the inward parts? or who hath given understanding to the heart?

February is traditionally the month to celebrate all things related to the heart.  How amazing that I was given a full year to learn how much the heart means to God. 
So I take a deep breath because I know I have not yet arrived, but at least now I know where I am going.  Destination:  To be more like my Lord and to reflect Him.  I want the reflection to be so clear that it is hard to see the difference between what is real and what is the reflection…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 7:06 pm

    Beautiful pictures! A picture truly is worth a thousand words. They certainly impress more firmly the message of your words. To reflect so closely that one cannot see the difference between the real and the reflection. I’ll definitely carry that with me! Thank you!

  2. February 8, 2010 11:09 pm

    Love things over here :)!
    Love,
    Amy

Leave a Reply

