Skip to content

As the rivers of water…

January 25, 2010

I have been able to think a lot over these last two weeks.  Normal people on vacation go sight-seeing, to theme parks, to zoos…not us.  We go on vacation to reconnect.  To each other and to our Savior.  I find myself remembering years past when we came to Fort Myers to visit family.  Now there is no more family here…but we still come.  Something draws us here.  Maybe memories.  That where my thoughts are today…  

   

I remember so clearly waking up to an early morning phone call from our adoption agent on February 21, 2000.  You see, we were picking up our son the first of March.  Our flights were set, our hotel was set…as in pregnancy, the diaper bag was packed.  All we were doing was waiting.  I could tell from the tone of my agents voice that I was not going to be hearing what I wanted to hear.  She said, “Vonda, there is nothing we can do.  The Judge is going on holiday and there will be a 3 week delay in him signing the final documents.”  I thanked her and tried to keep my voice from shaking.  I was alone and all I could do was call my husband at work and just cry.  I was trying to be strong, but 3 weeks seemed like an eternity to me.  I was mad…at the functioning of a foreign country…at my agent for not fixing it…and finally, why God?  I had no right to ask.  He had answered every prayer about this adoption.  I sat down to read my Bible, because that is what I do in the morning.  Even unto this day, I start with the corresponding Proverb of the day.  I opened my Bible to Proverbs 21:1   

The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD, as the rivers of water: he turneth it whithersoever he will.   

I remember saying outloud…”Ok, Lord…you have a plan in all of this.”  That is faith.  Was it easy?  No…we waited the 3 weeks.  Then we had our hands on our little boy.  We spent 15 glorious days with him in Bucharest.  On day 15 we could go to the US Embassy and sign a paper saying we saw him and wanted to bring him home with us the next morning!  With his visa and passport in hand, we went back to the hotel to pack for our early morning flight.  The phone rang in our hotel room.  It was our agent.  There were times I did not want to hear from her.  This was one of them. I handed the phone to my dear husband.  She explained to him that just that morning 2 baby girls were put into foster care and are available for adoption and would we like to go and pick one?  What?!  Go and pick a baby.  He hung up the phone and I said, “hun, I can’t just go pick a baby.”  He said, “no, you can’t, but God can…”  My hero.  We stopped and prayed and asked God for wisdom about what we were about to do.  Our translator came and picked us up at the hotel.  We arrived at the first apartment.  I was terrified of these apartments because the elevators are kin to telephone booths in size and a  jack hammer in sound.  We met the first little girl.  She was so pretty.  I went through the normal things you are supossed to do.  I undressed her and made sure she had 10 little fingers and 10 little toes.  My hero was not so sure about her.  He was concerned about the little bubble blister on her upper lip.  I was an experience mom, I knew it was just from sucking so hard on her bottle.  No worries.  He was still worried.   

As we were in the jack hammer phone booth at the next apartment, our translator said in his thick Romanian accent, “dis babee, much prettier, much prettier.”  I thought out loud, I am not going to pick a baby because she is pretty, how shallow!  The foster-mother was waiting at the door of the apartment for us.  She had only had this little girl for 1 day.  As I walked in the door, she handed her to me.  Our eyes immediately locked on each other.  I could not take my eyes from hers.  She was the prettiest little girl I had ever seen.  I went through the motions of taking off all her clothes and making sure she had 10 little fingers and 10 little toes.  At this point I didn’t care how many toes she had!  She had my heart.  I talked to her and she smiled at me.  I asked our translator how old she was.  Between he and the foster-mother, they found the birth certificate and he looked it over and said, “She has 3 weeks…today.”  I looked at my hero and he looked at me and we knew.   

If we had not had that 3 week delay that I was so mad about, I would not have my sweet baby girl. God knew our little girl was going to be born on March 16, 2000.  If we had traveled 3 weeks earlier, we would have missed her.  Our God is so great, so strong and so mighty, there is nothing my God cannot do.  We had our sweet little boy and in 6 months and a pile of paperwork, we would bring home the little girl we knew was ours.  You see, she was hand-picked by our Father…  

The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD, as the rivers of water: he turneth it whithersoever he will.    

   

In Romania with Dad

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Dustin permalink
    January 25, 2010 11:09 pm

    I love the post, Mom! I can vividly remember all of the events that happened. Of course, I never went to Romania, but I heard all of the stories when you guys came back. Looking back, we could never realize how perfect that God’s plan and timing was!
    I can remember getting a call from Dad while you were picking up child 3, and just after you had gotten child 4’s referal. It was kind of a carnal thing, though! I just had to tell dad that our Michigan State Spartans had won the NCAA Basketball championship in 2000. You told me about Adam, and who would eventually be our child 4 a few months later. I think we were going to name her Jaci first, but after mom’s first look at her, she figured out that she wasn’t a “Jaci.”

  2. February 4, 2010 5:50 pm

    I’ve never heard that story before, but that is amazing! Thanks for sharing.

  3. March 21, 2010 11:34 pm

    That was really sweet. I saw you over on Be Instant, and I just meandered on over. 🙂

  4. February 21, 2017 1:58 pm

    Vonda, I had never heard all these details. They bring tears to my eyes! I’m going to grab Brenna to read this. God is so good!!

Trackbacks

  1. And Then She Was Ten « Following Splendor
  2. On the Day You Were Born « Following Splendor
  3. P52 Week 3-I Dreamed A Dream « Following Splendor

Leave a Reply

