Skip to content

Two-Thousand-Ten or Twenty-Ten? 2010

January 2, 2010

Honestly, it looks the same.  It is all in the way you say it and what you want to get used to hearing.  We are driving to Florida, therefore, I have been listening to a lot of talk radio.  It looks like Twenty-Ten might win.  My kids both say Two-Thousand-Ten sounds more real.  It is only the first day of the new decade, so time will tell. 

I didn’t think of it as being a new decade until this whole discussion came up.  A lot has happened in the last Ten years.  Most of them have just eased into our lives and we don’t even notice them as much anymore.  One of the first observations our family made was how many stores and restaurants are open on New Years Day.  Ten years ago when we made this trip it was difficult to even find a McDonald’s open.  We would stop at the gas station and scrounge up a meal from a Speedway.  Dustin never minded and I think he actually looked forward to it.  Which is fine if you like hot dogs spinning for hours on a metal roller or microwave hot pockets.  This trip we have eaten at Cracker Barrel, Wendy’s and the ever anticipated Sonny’s BBQ.  We commented that there was no restaurant closed and even our Subways were all open now as opposed to even five years ago. 

In the last ten years have we changed?  Have the changes that have entered into our society permeated our lives?  Do we dismiss the casualness of society now towards the things of God?  Are we different as a family?  Do we know our Savior more than we did in the year Two-Thousand?  It is sometimes easy to look back over the past year and see the things you want to change.  But look back over the last decade and decide if you have moved closer or farther away from the plan God has for your life.  We have sought to follow the path God has laid out for us without question, but has society changed us so subtly that we don’t even notice?  Technology, entertainment and conveniences can seep in and take the place of that still small voice that needs to be heard. 

I love new starts.  I love a new year.  I have several things I want to work on and set goals for the new year.  I want to stick to my exercise goals for the whole year.  I want to look back at Twenty-Ten or Two-Thousand-Ten (you pick) and see some sort of success.  Even if it just means I didn’t quit.  I want to be a better soul winner.  I want to look back at the year and see that I shared Christ to those God has sent to me.  I want to give God’s word to someone more days than not. I want to be a better wife by really being attentive and following my husbands lead.  I want to be a better mom by being more consistent in teaching and training my children.  I want to be a better friend by being there not just in word but in deed.  I want to read more.  And finally, I want to see the unseen.  I want my faith to grow this year.  I know that means my heart needs to gaze upon my God in those times of trial and not look to its self. 

So, in the year Twenty-Twenty or Two-Thousand Twenty (you pick) what will change?  Will it be me?  I am only promised today.  Today, I jumped on the recumbent bike in the hotel.  Yes, I am adding biking to my exercise routine.  Today, I gave out tracks in the restaurants. Today, I went in the hot tub, outside at the hotel, in 35 degree weather, because my husband wanted to.    Today, I called a couple of friends.  Today, I talked to my children about consistency and faithfulness in their daily Bible devotions.  I will keep them accountable.  Today, I started a new book by A. W. Tozer.  Today, I am still working on my heart gazing at Christ when the world shouts so loud.  Today is all I am promised.  His Grace is new every morning and Today is all I need. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 11:44 pm

    Greetings, Mrs. Murdock! I just came across your blog via Dustin & Andrea’s. I read through it all and really enjoyed it, and I must say you would make a great motivational speaker!

Leave a Reply

