Skip to content

Thirty Days

October 27, 2010

November is quickly approaching.  Last year-I so wanted to take up a Thanksgiving challenge, but I didn’t get my ducks all in a row, and therefore;  my mind was not focused to take on a daily challenge.  Andrea, my daughter-in-law drew me into wanting to tackle a thirty day challenge– last year.  She was so inspiring– and this year, I am thinking a whole 6 days in advance.  I need to research the whole idea more completely, but here is the plan.

*Pottery Barn (I would so love this!)

1.  Make some sort of Thankfulness Board-maybe a tree and add leaves to the tree of good deeds we can do for others-the we-would be my children and I–my hero seems to have his hands full of ‘good deeds’ on a 24/7 basis already!

2.  Think of 30 ‘good deeds’-which would mean neighbors, friends, strangers, the mail deliverer, and family members near and far.  That should take up at least 30 days.

3.  Plan specific deeds.  Make food items for a friend or neighbor who could use a loving thought-visiting an elderly person- writing a note to a friend or relative in our own handwriting-not email.  Encourage a college student with a goodie box-  send  a  box to a soldier overseas-add to this list!

4.  I don’t want to be so tied to a plan that I cannot see other needs that may arise–I want my heart to be in tune to others-I want my children to see the needs of others and want to meet that need with something kind from their hearts.

These are the goals-and not to forget to see the trees even though there is a forest in the way–I will keep you all updated of each step and the progress not only on the deeds-but the goal of heart change, as well.  We are given so many blessings-all given by our Heavenly Father-who has given us all things to enjoy-our hearts flow should be to show the love of the Father-not only in word-but in deed.

So–  Would anyone like to join me?  It would be so encouraging to share in what we can do for others in a day and age when everyone is so focused on me and mine–let’s get out of the materialistic world and really seen the unseen–we could be a real blessing to someone-just when they need it–you don’t even have to ‘broadcast’ your willingness to take up this challenge–But I will be here–all for the accountability–

1 Chronicles 16:8

Give thanks unto the LORD, call upon his name, make known his deeds among the people.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 10:48 pm

    I know it’s not November yet, but your hero was a tremendous blessing to me Sunday night/Monday morning. I’m glad he made it home safely after staying up all night. He made it so my shift started at 4:30 instead of going until 1:00. I had one of my best Mondays after in a looonnngggg time. 🙂

  2. Anne permalink
    October 28, 2010 1:09 am

    I love reading your posts. They are so encouraging to me. If you ever need the name of a deployed soldier to send a box to, just let me know. I’m getting ready to become a key spouse for Matt’s unit on base. It just means I’m a “go-to” person for deployed families & I make sure they know what’s going on specifically for them. In the same vein, when you think of deployed, pray for Raul, a new Christian from our church set to deploy in 2 weeks for a total of 12 months with a 1 month old, 2 year old, & 12 year old at home. Thanks, Vonda.

    • October 28, 2010 8:22 am

      Yes, Anne–I would like the names of a few soldiers- and if you have a list of items that would be good to send–I would also like to send Matt a box from friends–so ideas for him would be welcome also–
      I will pray for Raul and his family–God’s plan will surely strengthen them as they keep their eyes on Him–

  3. October 28, 2010 6:41 am

    You know I was just thinking about Andrea’s Thanksgiving Challenge of last year. I was going to go back to her archives and get some ideas. Sometimes I think we get so wrapped up in our own circle of friends that we do not see the NEEDS of the people around us. I am getting excited as I sit here and type; thinking of people I could try to encourage or be a small blessing to. Count me in! 🙂

  4. October 28, 2010 10:19 am

    I have been looking forward to November with great anticipation since August. It’s not as though I can’t do nice things for people now, but the 30-Day Challenge was incredible last year. I did it with my sister, and it changed my whole outlook on life & other people. It has been an encouragement and challenge for the rest of the year. I’ll DEFINITELY be joining you in this!

  5. October 29, 2010 12:15 am

    Wow…well, I don’t feel like I have a choice after reading the post and now the comments! I admit, this year is different –a bit of a full schedule lately! –guess I needed this prod to go on and do what I should do anyway! Okay, count me in!

    • October 29, 2010 9:25 am

      Nothing like a little peer pressure:) I have had some verbal responses from others–and last nights message at Church was all on accountability–and Someone is cutting me out a tree similar to the one in the picture above–I am working the plan!

Trackbacks

  1. Cinnamon Rolls « Following Splendor
  2. Give Thanks « Following Splendor

Leave a comment